Over 6,000 full-length documentary streaming videos.
Films On Demand allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7!
Choose from more than 6,000 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the
ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire
collection through an administrative reporting system.
Search over 6,000 titles in the UML Media video collection.
The UML Video Catalog offers the ability to search through the entire collection of videos in the Media Department collection.
Although DVDs have been the exclusive format version in recent years, the collection still holds a large assortment of video titles
on VHS tape. The catalog enables searching by title, series title, date, length, description, and subject keywords.
Streaming multimedia resources for teaching and learning.
The mission of Annenberg Media is to advance excellent teaching in American schools through the development and distribution
of multimedia resources for teaching and learning. It is a unit of the Annenberg Foundation, which funds a wide
range of programs in education and other areas. The video programs are streamed for on-demand viewing.
Over 160,000 hours of C-Span footage.
Coverage: 1987 - current
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research,
and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the
C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and
maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.
Free movies, cartoons, concerts, and much more available for download.
The Moving Image Archive is part of the Internet Archive that concentrates on film and video media conten. The library
contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films,
to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that offers permanent access for to historical collections that exist in
digital format. It currently contains over 2 million freely available texts.
Over 2,000 ephemeral films between 1927 and 1987.
The goal of the Prelinger Archives is to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that
haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit
organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions. In 2002 the existing archive of
over 60,000 titles was acquired by the Library of Congress. Available here through the Internet Archive are films collected since
that sale and made available online.
Databases
Nearly 700,000 citations to articles.
Coverage: 1976 - 2001
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.
Nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals covering most subjects.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text that includes over 3,600 peer-reviewed journals,
Academic Search Premier also offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Citations covering research in literature, linguistics, and folklore.
Coverage: 1980 - current
MLA International Bibliography (produced by the Modern Language
Association), contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals
& series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is
international and includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500
titles and nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of
literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism,
dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of
teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the
bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Over 5,000 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1990 - current
Ebsco purchased Netlibrary eBooks in 2010 and came out with a new interface in late-July, 2011.
What was once Netlibrary is now titles simply "eBook Collection." The content is the same, but the interface
replicates all other Ebsco database products. titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table of contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal EBSCOhost login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
Research Guide
Best resources chosen by a UML subject specialist librarian.