New Database Trials and Subscriptions
Full text articles and books covering antiques, art and art history, film,
interior and landscape design, and much more.
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 140 books
along with cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications
as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.
This database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, film,
interior and landscape design, and much more.
Nearly 1 million images supporting the humanities and social sciences.
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities,
and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Any UML user can create an account and save collections. Instructor privileges allow collections to be shared by
a class or the entire UML community. Instructors can also add their own images to their collections.
Over 236,000 individual biogtraphies, plus more than 36,000 images
Trial period: September 23 - October 23, 2009
Biography Reference Bank Select Edition features biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays,
book reviews, performance reviews, speeches (Wilson’s Speeches of the American Presidents), or obituaries.
The entire range of journal content that is indexed at Wilson is examined daily for content appropriate for
inclusion in this database.
Images of literary manuscripts from the Restoration through the Victorian era.
Trial period: October 15 - December 15, 2009
British Literary Manuscripts Online
presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems,
plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials of major literary figures from the
Restoration through the Victorian era including Pope, Brontë, Dickens, Johnson, Wilde and many more.
The pages have been created from microfilm collections by digitizing the images and related catalog
information and descriptions contained in those collections. Searching is based on tags and descriptive
text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and
navigated on screen. The text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable.
Over 150,000 images from movies, television and the entertainment industry.
Trial period: September 23 - October 23, 2009
The Cinema Image Gallery is one of the world’s most comprehensive online collections of still images from movies,
television and the entertainment industry. It presents the history of movie-making, still images of films
in production, directors working on-set with the stars, set, costume and production design, as well as,
hair and make-up shots and rare behind-the-scenes material. Cinema Image Gallery also offers an extensive
TV stills archive, covering comedies, dramas, series, TV movies, game shows and thousands of pictures of
the stars in this medium. Cinema Image Gallery includes over 150,000 superior-quality images, along with
a treasure-trove of over 4,000 poster art and lobby cards used to promote the movies.
Over 15,000 classical scores and manuscripts.
Trial period: November 5 - January 3, 2010
To comment on this trial, please visit the
UML LibInfo Blog
Classical Scores Library contains nearly 300,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public
domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works.
Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the
University Music Editions microfilm series.
The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score
types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer,
work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type,
duration, editor, arranger, publisher. We hope that this will enable users to search, analyze, and research
scores in a simple but powerful manner.
Full text journal articles, books, and conference papers.
Coverage: Full-Text: 1972-Current, Indexing: 1914-Current
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all
educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete
provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals,
and includes full text for more than 500 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Over 6,000 full-length documentary streaming videos.
Trial period: November 12 - December 12, 2009
To comment on this trial, please visit the
UML LibInfo Blog
Films On Demand allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7!
Choose from more than 6,000 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the
ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire
collection through an administrative reporting system.
Focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment.
Trial period: October 1 - November 27, 2009
To comment on this trial, please visit the
UML LibInfo Blog
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social,
and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research
centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population,
and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies,
legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia. Use Browse
Issues and Topics, World Map, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Streaming access to nearly 40,000 classical, jazz and world music CDs.
Trial period: November 1 - November 30, 2009
To comment on this trial, please visit the
UML LibInfo Blog
Naxos Music Library (NML) offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining
every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical
labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX and, of course,
Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music,
nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content.
The aim of NML is to eventually offer access to every work of classical music ever recorded and to become the
ultimate resource in the classical music field. In future, users will also be able to view the instrumentation
of all orchestral and chamber music works and to access comprehensive analyses of all the most important works.
Resources offered by NML include synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names
and a glossary of musical terms. A comprehensive online encyclopedia of classical music is in development.
Articles by scholars in the majority of academic disciplines.
Trial period: October 8 - November 7, 2009
The prestigious Oxford Handbooks series is now available online as a collection in four subject modules –
Business & Management; Philosophy; Political Science; and Religion. Each handbook takes an aspect of its
discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues,
and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve. Introductory and yet sophisticated, the handbooks
offer authoritative and trustworthy guides to the scholarship that defines the field.
Combines full-text access to 3,036 core scholarly books in 18 subject areas.
Trial period: October 8 - November 7, 2009
Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which now offers quick
and easy access to the full text of 3,036 Oxford books in Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies,
Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy,
Physics, Psychology, Public Health and Epidemiology, Religion and Social Work.
Full text articles, reference books, and conference papers.
Coverage: Full-Text: 1937-Current, Indexing: 1911-Current
Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 385 publications, and cover-to-cover
indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals. The database also features more than 165 full-text reference
books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political
Science Association.
80 authoritative, interdisciplinary handbooks across the social sciences.
Trial period: Oct. 1 - 31, 2009
This Handbook Collection contains 80 authoritative, award–winning, international, and interdisciplinary handbooks
across the social sciences. This Collection is hosted on SAGE Reference Online and increases the content on the
platform to more than 160 titles while offering enhanced functionality.
Primary source documents relating to slavery in the Americas.
Trial period: Oct. 15 - Dec. 15, 2009
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes 1.5 million cross-searchable pages of documents from the United
States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books
published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives
originally available only on microfilm. In total the database contains over 7,247 books, 80 serials,
more than fifteen manuscript collections, plus court records. It also includes material published
through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, Oberlin College, Oxford University, %amp; many other institutions.
Literary reference combining Twayne's U.S., English, and World Authors.
The Twayne Authors Series is a literary reference resource that combines
Twayne's U.S. Authors,
Twayne's English Authors, and
Twayne's World Authors publications. Each of these individual
titles provides literary criticism for approximately 200 authors, bringing the total number of authors covered
in the Series to nearly 600. All titles feature comment elements, such as a chronology, a biography, a
comprehensive critical analysis, and an annotated bibliography. The discussions of each author in the series
are between 175-200 printed pages.
Offers detailed answers to clinical questions.
Trial period: Nov. 15 - Jan. 12, 2009
To comment on this trial, please visit the
UML LibInfo Blog
UpToDate is an electronic information resource that provides detailed answers to clinical questions.
UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 14 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text,
graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database.