University of Massachusetts Lowell
UML Home News Calendar Directory Maps & Directions Libraries Questions
UML Search:

Sociology Databases

UML Home  > Libraries Home  > Databases Home  > Sociology
Enter search term(s): Search by:
Use quotation marks "around phrases" for better results!
Choose all (databases with checkboxes can be searched simultaneously)
Recommended Databases
Abstracts from journals and dissertations with full text from 140 journals.
Coverage: 1979-Current
SocINDEX with Full Text (Ebsco)    full text   search help   title list
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines.
Coverage: 1895 to present
Content from journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers.
Coverage: 1952-Current
Databases
Ageline (Ebsco)   search help
Citations and abstracts addressing aging issues from the individual to the global.
Subject index to international alternative periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Coverage: 1991 - current
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)    full text   search help   title list
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Coverage: 1970 - current
America: History & Life (Ebsco)    full text   search help  
Bibliographic entries covering all eras of U.S. and Canada history.
Coverage: 1964 - current
spacer Annual Reviews    full text   search help   title list
Analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Collected information related to child welfare, abuse, neglect, and adoption.
Coverage: 1965 - current
CQ Researcher    full text   title list
In-depth, original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Coverage: 1991 - current
EconLit (Ebsco)    full text   search help
Covers all aspects of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Coverage: 1969 - current
ERIC (Ebsco)   search help
Mostly citations and abstracts with some full text from journals, books, proceedings, reports, and Department of Education publications.
Coverage: 1966 - current
Ethnic NewsWatch with History Backfile (ProQuest)    full text   search help   title list   title list
Publications from ethnic, minority and native presses from throughout the U.S.
Coverage: 1960 - current
GenderWatch (ProQuest)    full text   search help   title list
Focus on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women.
Coverage: 1970 - current
Journals covering sociology, health, education, engineering, and much more.
Coverage: varies (mostly from 2001) - current.
JSTOR    full text   search help   title list  
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
Access news, business, and legal sources from the U.S. and around the world.
PsycInfo (Ebsco)    full text   search help
Content from journals, books, dissertations, and reports related to psychology.
Coverage: 1887 to present
Over 500 journals covering areas of medicine, the social sciences and much more.
Coverage: 1999 - current
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
eBooks
Nearly 43,000 ebooks, many published by leading academic presses, covering 16 key subject areas. Works best on a PC in IE.
spacer NetLibrary eBooks    full text   search help   title list
Over 4,400 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - current
6 guides and dictionaries covering U.S. and international law.
Coverage: Publication dates 2000 - 2006
Reference books covering politics, government, history and social sciences.
Coverage: Publication dates 1993 - 2005
48 encyclopedias and handbooks covering the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Coverage: Publication dates 2002 - 2008
Research Guide
Best resources chosen by a UML subject specialist librarian.
Best resources chosen by a UML subject specialist librarian.
Best resources chosen by a UML subject specialist librarian.
Best resources chosen by a UML subject specialist librarian.