Recommended Databases
Contains more than 100,000 full-text scholarly articles from 48 journals
published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied
organizations.
Coverage: 1894 - current
The
PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology as
well as specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research. It includes all
journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Most APA
journals are available from Volume 1, Issue 1.
Includes most scholarly titles published by American Psychological Association
(APA) from copyright years 1953 - 2005. It also includes 100 out-of-print books
and a total of more than 400 classic books of landmark historical impact in
psychology.
Coverage: 1953 to 2006
PsycBOOKS contains more than 16,000 chapters in PDF
from over 1,000 books published by American Psychological Association (APA) and
other distinguished publishers. It also includes more than 1,500 authored
entries from the APA/Oxford University Press
Encyclopedia of Psychology.
PsycBOOKS is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA’s Thesaurus of
Psychological Index Terms.
Bibliographic citations and abstracts from more than 1300 journals as well as
books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology and as well as
business, education, law, social work, linguistics, and medicine.
Coverage: 1887 to present
From the American Psychological Association (APA),
PsycINFO contains nearly 2.3
million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters,
books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as
far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The
database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related
fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education,
pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material
selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.
Databases
Produced by AARP,
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the
population aged 50+ and issues of aging. It includes aging-related content from
the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public
policy. AgeLine also includes information for professionals working in
aging-related fields and for consumers. AARP generates original abstracts for
every citation, with index terms drawn from AgeLine's Thesaurus of Aging
Terminology. AgeLine indexes over 600 journals, books, book chapters, reports,
dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos. Designed for
researchers, professionals, students, and general consumers, this database
addresses aging issues from individual, national, and global perspectives.
Contains citations and abstracts of significant papers relevant to animal
behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology and
genetics to applied ethology.
Coverage: 1982 - current
Under the editorial guidance of one of the world's leading ethologists,
Animal Behavior Abstracts surveys all of the important journals dealing
with the biology of particular taxonomic groups. Both field and laboratory
inquiries are summarized.
Authoritative, analytic reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical,
Physical, and Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Citations and abstracts of research on on the maltreatment, safety, permanency
and well-being of children.
Coverage: 1965 - current
Full-text material from 70 journals plus indexing for nearly 3,000 more from the
fields of nursing and allied health.
Coverage: 1982 - current
CINAHL offers complete coverage of English-language
nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the
American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences
librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied
health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care
books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of
practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited
references for more than 1,170 journals are also included. Full text material
includes 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths,
drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Bibliographic citations and abstracts for over 2.3 million dissertations and
theses from around the world, with over 750,000 available for download.
Coverage: 1861 - current
Contains citations to actual test documents; bibliographic citations to journal
articles which contain information about specific test instruments; and a
catalog of commercial test publishers and their available instruments.
Coverage: 1985 - current
HaPI features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians
that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview
schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and
projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas
such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation.
In addition to medical measurement instruments, HaPI presents tests used in
medically related disciplines including psychology, social work, occupational
therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy.
Citations and abstracts with some full text covering medicine, nursing,
veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, dentistry, and much more.
Coverage: 1860 - present
Created by the National Library of Medicine,
MEDLINE
contains over 4 million records covering a broad range of medical topics
relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and
health care services. It uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with
tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations
from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing
instruments.
Coverage: 1916 - 2006 (Yearbook 9 - current)
Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced
professionals, the
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series contains
information for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas
as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain
descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited
review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a
test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and
be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. MMY provides coverage
from Volume 9 to the present.
Over 3,250 items ranging from commercial tests to measures published in journals
and books available at the UML Libraries. Search by test name, author, year,
subject or publisher.
Coverage: 1885 to 1999
Full-text access to two MIT encyclopedias, three Handbooks, and three volumes on Neuroscience.
Coverage: Publication dates 2001 - 2004
The
CogNet Library is a growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference
materials. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions,
and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work:
* Full-text of 6 MIT Press journals plus searchable abstracts of over 30 journals from other publishers.
* Full-text of 7 major reference works from the MIT Press.
* Over 450 full-text books in cognitive science from The MIT Press are included.
* Links to relevant MIT OpenCourseWare in the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
* On-demand video relevant to the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
In addition, CogNet contains a growing variety of helpful academic information: News, Profiles of Graduate Programs,
Graduate Application information and Funding Resources, Conference Schedules, Conference Proceedings, Virtual poster sessions,
Calls for Papers, Seminar Series, and Job Listings.
Full-text access to nearly 500 titles from MIT Press on the topics of Psychology, Cognitive Science, Neuroscience, Linguistics,
and much more.
Coverage: Publication dates 1992 - current
The
CogNet Library is a growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference
materials. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions,
and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work:
* Full-text of 6 MIT Press journals plus searchable abstracts of over 30 journals from other publishers.
* Full-text of 7 major reference works from the MIT Press.
* Over 450 full-text books in cognitive science from The MIT Press are included.
* Links to relevant MIT OpenCourseWare in the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
* On-demand video relevant to the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
In addition, CogNet contains a growing variety of helpful academic information: News, Profiles of Graduate Programs,
Graduate Application information and Funding Resources, Conference Schedules, Conference Proceedings, Virtual poster sessions,
Calls for Papers, Seminar Series, and Job Listings.
This four-volume set includes over 1,200 articles from over 700 expert contributors.
Coverage: third edition 2001
Complete, full-text access to more than 4,100 ebooks covering all major subject
areas, including over 280 titles related to Psychology.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - 2006
Covers all branches of psychology with over 11,000 entries that extend to related disciplines including psychoanalysis,
psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics.
Coverage: second edition 2006