Recommended Databases
In-depth, original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Coverage: 1991 - current
CQ Researcher, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc., contains
single-themed, 12,000-word reports researched and written by seasoned
journalists. Each report provides an introductory overview; background and
chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con
statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key
sources. Reports are browsable by topic or date or searchable by keyword.
Access news, business, and legal sources from the U.S. and around the world.
LexisNexis Academic is divided into four catagories that can be
searched individually or in combination:
"News"
provides full-text access to more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around
the world, including the
Financial Times
(dating back to 1982),
The New York Times (dating back to 1980) and
The Washington Post (dating back to 1977); over 300 major magazines and
journals; and broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio
networks.
"Legal" includes primary source material such as case law,
statutes and regulations along with legal news and law reviews for background or
analysis of a legal topic, including access to Shepard's Citations service for all
federal and states court cases back to 1789.
"Business" provides U.S. and international company financial
information, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search
features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income
and number of employees.
"People" offers biographies and obituaries of people in the
news, government, and industry.
Full text articles, reference books, and conference papers.
Coverage: Full-Text: 1937-Current, Indexing: 1911-Current
Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 385 publications, and cover-to-cover
indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals. The database also features more than 165 full-text reference
books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political
Science Association.
Abstracts covering politics, international relations, government, public policy.
Coverage: 1975 - current
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the
international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields,
including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Since 2000, development of the serials list has focused on expanding international coverage.
As of November 2005 approximately 1,500+ titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are
published outside the United States.
Databases
Broad collection from leading journals, newspapers and reference sources.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the
following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed
academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty
titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of
The
New York Times from 1990,
The Wall Street Journal,
The Washington Post,
Los Angeles Times and
Christian
Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture,
general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry
topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any
National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced
by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the
Census and the State Department are also available.
Nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals covering most subjects.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text that includes over 3,600 peer-reviewed journals,
Academic Search Premier also offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Bibliographic entries covering all eras of U.S. and Canada history.
Coverage: 1964 - current
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature for 1,700 journals covering the history and culture of the United States
and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media
reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and
events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
CLIO Notes is included in this resource that contains overviews of historical periods and detailed chronologies
for major events and issues.
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America.
Coverage: 1936 - current
Handbook of Latin American Studies is edited
by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. the multidisciplinary
Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works
for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook
offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. Works
reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers
in the disciplines of Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and
Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History,
International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology. Starting
with Volume 54, the Handbook also includes a section on Electronic Resources for
Latin American studies. In addition, some of the earlier volumes included other
disciplines such as Cartography, Film, Folklore, Law, and so forth.
Citations and abstracts concerning world history from 1450 to the present.
Coverage: 1954 - current
Historical Abstracts includes 75-120 word abstracts to journal articles and
citations to books and dissertations. Every year over 20,000 new entries are
added from over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide. Over 600,000 entries
currently available. The Web version is updated monthly.
CLIO Notes is included in this resource that contains overviews of historical periods and detailed chronologies
for major events and issues.
Cover-to-cover full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: Sept 18,1851 - Dec 31, 2005
The database covers
The New York Times from its first issue in 1851
through 2002. Coverage includes not only news, editorials, letters to the
editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical
photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
A searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image. Users can search
by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching
techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed
bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title,
publication, issue date, author, page, etc.
Cover-to-cover full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: July 8, 1889 - Dec 31, 1991
The database covers
The Wall Street Journal from its first issue in
1889 through 1991. Coverage includes not only news, editorials, letters to the
editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical
photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
A searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image. Users can search
by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching
techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed
bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title,
publication, issue date, author, page, etc.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer
509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month.
Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered
branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics,
economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Recent news from nytimes.com plus full text from the archive 1851 - 1980.
Coverage: 1851 - Current
The New York Times Article Archive, 1981-Present, contains free access articles from 1987 up to the present time.
Photographs, charts and other illustrations are not included. Premium articles from the archive are for sale, but
likely can be found for free in UML's ProQuest subscription to the Historical New York Times using the link below.
Articles published from Sept. 1851 to Dec. 1980 are available in the Article Archive: 1851-1980. These articles
include the accompanying photos, charts and graphs in PDF format.
Information about politics and governments throughout the Americas.
The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a
freely-accessible non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American
Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University. It's mission is to contribute to the
study, promotion and strengthening of democracy in the hemisphere, through the
collection, systematization, dissemination, and exchange of information, data,
statistics, and institutions from a political perspective, comparative studies;
and other resources relevant to the 35 countries of the region.
Abstracts from journals and dissertations with full text from 140 journals.
Coverage: 1979-Current
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current
research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including
social welfare, social policy, and community development. 124 of the 140
full-text journals are refereed, including of the 129 ISI rated journals in
sociology and social work. Deep archiving dates as far back as the 1920s for
some titles.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
Over 4,400 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - current
NetLibrary eBook titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table or contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
28 Companions, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Guides covering world history.
Oxford Reference: History covers a broad range of historical areas related primarilary to the United States
and Britain, the United Kingdom, Canada and Australia. Other areas include military history, the Reformation and
Renaissance, family history, and much more. The subject can be searched or browsed as a whole or within
individual works.
6 guides and dictionaries covering U.S. and international law.
Coverage: Publication dates 2000 - 2006
Oxford Reference: Law Online Premium is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 170 dictionaries and reference titles
covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and
Social Sciences to Business and Professional. Search either the entire site or any of the 19 subject-specific collections. Also
included are collections of quotation reference books, map images, and timelines broken down by theme or country.
Reference books covering politics, government, history and social sciences.
Coverage: Publication dates 1993 - 2005
Oxford Reference: Politics & Social Sciences is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 170 dictionaries and reference titles
covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and
Social Sciences to Business and Professional. Search either the entire site or any of the 19 subject-specific collections. Also
included are collections of quotation reference books, map images, and timelines broken down by theme or country.
48 encyclopedias and handbooks covering the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Coverage: Publication dates 2002 - 2008
Sage eReference titles, including the
Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods,
can be searched together or separately by keyword or browsed by subject. Individual
titles have a Reader's Guide that combines entries into thematic categories. You can also limit searches by images, tables,
or sidebars. Subjects covered include African American Studies, Anthropology, Business and
Management, Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, Health, History, Politics, Psychology, Research Methods,
Social Issues, Sociology, and much more.