Recommended Databases
Reference works mostly covering world religions but also philosophy.
Coverage: Publication dates 1993 - 2005
Oxford Reference: Religion & Philosophy is a collection of 13 titles that mostly contain Dictionaries,
Oxford Companions, Guides, and an Encyclopedia that cover multiple aspects of world religions. Inlcluded also are
an Oxford Companion and Oxford Guide to Philosophy. The subject can be searched or browsed as a whole or within
individual works, or searched together with the entire multi-subject Oxford Reference collection.
Citations and abstracts covering research in all areas of philosophy.
Coverage: 1940 - current
The
Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more
than 40 countries and is updated quarterly. The literature covered includes
journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology,
and book reviews. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along
with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of
book reviews.
Extended articles related to philosophy from classical times to the modern.
The
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is an open-access, online, dynamic reference work, in which each entry
is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
All entries and updates are refereed by the members of an editorial board before
they are made public. SEP covers wide variety of subject disciplines within the
sciences and humanities, including aesthetics, ethics, feminism, philosophy of
law, logic, metaphysics and philosophy of science.
Databases
Broad collection from leading journals, newspapers and reference sources.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the
following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed
academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty
titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of
The
New York Times from 1990,
The Wall Street Journal,
The Washington Post,
Los Angeles Times and
Christian
Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture,
general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry
topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any
National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced
by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the
Census and the State Department are also available.
Nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals covering most subjects.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text that includes over 3,600 peer-reviewed journals,
Academic Search Premier also offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer
509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month.
Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered
branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics,
economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers.
PhilPapers is a product developed out of the Australian National University. its purpose is to facilitate the
exchange and development of philosophical research through the internet.
The service gathers and organizes philosophical research available online, and provides tools for philosophers
to access, organize, and discuss this research. There are currently 192,791 entries in PhilPapers' database,
about two-thirds of which has been gathered from publisher's sites. Over 30,000 entries are from the Library
of Congress and over 4,000 entries were submitted from users. Personal accounts allow users to create reading lists,
journal filters, and save searches. Projects under development
are the creation of interest groups where members can discuss and share papers, and the addition of text annotations.
Citations covering research in literature, linguistics,
literature, and folklore.
Coverage: 1980 - current
MLA International Bibliography(produced by the Modern Language
Association), contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals
& series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is
international and includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500
titles and nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of
literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism,
dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of
teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the
bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Ebooks covering topics in Psychology, Neuroscience, Linguistics, and much more.
Coverage: Publication dates 1992 - current
The
CogNet Library is a growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference
materials. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions,
and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work:
* Full-text of 6 MIT Press journals plus searchable abstracts of over 30 journals from other publishers.
* Full-text of 7 major reference works from the MIT Press.
* Over 450 full-text books in cognitive science from The MIT Press are included.
* Links to relevant MIT OpenCourseWare in the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
* On-demand video relevant to the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
In addition, CogNet contains a growing variety of helpful academic information: News, Profiles of Graduate Programs,
Graduate Application information and Funding Resources, Conference Schedules, Conference Proceedings, Virtual poster sessions,
Calls for Papers, Seminar Series, and Job Listings.
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
Over 4,400 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - current
NetLibrary eBook titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table or contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
Contains hundreds of Oxford Companion reference books and
dictionaries covering all subjects world wide.
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a huge and comprehensive
resource that contains over 170 dictionaries and reference titles covering the
complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and
Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Search either the entire site or any of the 19 subject-specific collections.
Also included are collections of quotation reference books, map images, and
timelines broken down by theme or country.