Recommended Databases
Full-text access to over 350 U.S and world newspapers including the
Financial Times (from 1982),
The New York Times (from 1980) and
The Washington Post
(from 1977); plus broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks.
In addition to newspapers,
Lexis Nexis Academic: NEWS provides
broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks, including
ABC, CBS, CNN, FOX, NBC and NPR along with Web-based publications, blogs, and
nearly 300 individual college/university papers. Also covered are Wire services,
updated several times a day, including respected names such as the Associated
Press, Business Wire and PR Newswire. Also included is full text from more than
400 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters, including:
Business
Week,
The Economist,
Ebony,
Kirkus Reviews,
New Republic,
Newsweek,
Slate,
U.S. News & World Report and
Variety.
Full-text coverage of the New York Times newspaper from the NYTimes.com web site. Use the drop-down menu next to the search box
to search either either from 1981 or the archive from 1851 - 1980.
Coverage: Jan 1, 1981 - Current or 1851 - 1980
Offers every issue in complete paper–cover-to-cover with full-page and article
images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: Sept 18,1851 - Dec 31, 2003
The database covers
The New York Times from its first issue in
1851 through 2002. Coverage includes not only news, editorials, letters to the
editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical
photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
A searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image. Users can search
by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching
techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed
bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title,
publication, issue date, author, page, etc.
Databases
Full-text articles from the world's leading journals, newspapers and reference
sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine,
social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the
following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed
academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty
titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of
The
New York Times from 1990,
The Wall Street Journal,
The Washington Post,
Los Angeles Times and
Christian
Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture,
general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry
topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any
National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced
by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the
Census and the State Department are also available.
A full text database comprised of more than 190 newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Coverage: 1970 - current
Full text of the Globe offers authoritative coverage of local, national and
international news.
Coverage: September 1980 - current
Access to full-text coverage of the
Boston Globe through
detailed indexing that covers not only complete bibliographic information but
also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. In addition,
items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the
editor from well-known people are also made easily accessible through the
searchable index.
Offers every issue in complete paper–cover-to-cover with full-page and article
images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: March 4, 1872 - Dec. 31, 1924
The Historical Boston Globe covers not only news, editorials, letters to the
editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical
photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Each article and page image is available as searchable ASCII text.
Users can search by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching
techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed
bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title,
publication, issue date, author, page, etc.
Full text of the Boston Herald offers authoritative coverage of local, national and
international news.
Coverage: 1991 - current
Access to full-text coverage of the
Boston Herald through
detailed indexing that covers not only complete bibliographic information but
also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. In addition,
items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the
editor from well-known people are also made easily accessible through the
searchable index.
An interdisciplinary and bilingual (English and Spanish) full text database of nearly 300 newspapers, magazines and
journals from ethnic, minority and native presses from throughout the U.S.
Coverage: 1960 - current
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History together span over 40 years with nearly 1.2 million full-text,
fully indexed articles. The Historic backfile covers 39 of the nearly 300 titles in Ethnic NewsWatch. Publications cover regional news about
African American, Native American, Hispanic, Jewish, Muslim, and other ethnic groups.
Click here for a
title list for Ethnic NewsWatch and here for a
title list of Ethnic NewsWatch: A History.
Full text database of over 230 publications that focus on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women.
Sources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and NGO, government and
special reports.
Coverage: 1970 - current
GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies,
and women’s studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. It contains more than 125,000 full-text articles on wide-ranging topics
like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
Click here for a
complete GenderWatch title list.
An influential black weekly newspaper with cover-to-cover full-page and article
images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: Jul. 31, 1909 - Dec. 31, 1975
Full-text coverage of the Lowell Sun newspaper.
Coverage: November 2004 - current
Search combined full-text coverage of 14 Massachusetts newspapers including the
Boston Globe,
Boston Herald,
Lowell Sun,
Quincy Patriot Ledger and the
Worcester
Telegram & Gazette, plus selected coverage of other regional sources.
Coverage: varies by title, oldest is 1980 - current
Offers full-text coverage of national and international finance as well as first
rate coverage of hard news.
Coverage: 1984 - current
Comprehensive, high-quality indexing covers not only complete bibliographic
information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic
areas, so researchers can easily access not only top news stories but also
detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even
such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, and letters to the editor from
well-known people are indexed. For each article cited in the database, an
abstract of up to 75 words helps the researcher know if the complete text will
meet his or her needs.
Offers every issue in complete paper–cover-to-cover with full-page and article
images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: July 8, 1889 - Dec 31, 1989
The database covers
The Wall Street Journal from its first issue in
1889 through 2003. Coverage includes not only news, editorials, letters to the
editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical
photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
A searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image. Users can search
by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching
techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed
bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title,
publication, issue date, author, page, etc.