Recommended Databases
More than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full
text, covering music from the scholarly to the popular.
Coverage: 1874 - current
Full-text access to 8 reference books and dictionaries covering music, dance, opera, and theater, including a
Who's Who in Opera.
Coverage: Publication dates 1993 - current
Contains over 400,000 bibliographic entries fully cited, abstracted, and indexed
from publications on music from all over the world.
Coverage: 1967 - current
From hip hop to Händel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary
music education to advanced music theory,
RILM covers all aspects of music world wide. Approximately
30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles,
books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies,
critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference
proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
Databases
Full-text articles from the world's leading journals, newspapers and reference
sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine,
social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the
following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed
academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty
titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of
The
New York Times from 1990,
The Wall Street Journal,
The Washington Post,
Los Angeles Times and
Christian
Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture,
general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry
topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any
National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced
by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the
Census and the State Department are also available.
Full text for nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals, including more than
3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text,
Academic Search Premier offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Citations from over 6,000 journals, books, essay collections, bibliographies,
working papers, and dissertations in the fields of language, linguistics,
literature, and folklore.
Coverage: varies by title, oldest is 1980 - current
MLA International Bibliography(produced by the Modern Language
Association), contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals
& series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is
international and includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500
titles and nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of
literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism,
dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of
teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the
bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Full-text access to two music titles from MIT Press:
Music and Memory,
Virtual Music.
Coverage: Publication dates 2001
The
CogNet Library is a growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference
materials. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions,
and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work:
* Full-text of 6 MIT Press journals plus searchable abstracts of over 30 journals from other publishers.
* Full-text of 7 major reference works from the MIT Press.
* Over 450 full-text books in cognitive science from The MIT Press are included.
* Links to relevant MIT OpenCourseWare in the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
* On-demand video relevant to the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
In addition, CogNet contains a growing variety of helpful academic information: News, Profiles of Graduate Programs,
Graduate Application information and Funding Resources, Conference Schedules, Conference Proceedings, Virtual poster sessions,
Calls for Papers, Seminar Series, and Job Listings.
Complete, full-text access to more than 4,100 ebooks covering all major subject
areas, including over 280 titles related to Psychology.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - 2006
Complete full-text access to over 1,600 fully searchable books, articles, and
videos from premier industry publishers.
Coverage: 2005 - current
Safari Tech Books Online publishers include O'Reilly Media, Addison-Wesley,
Adobe Press, Macromedia Press, Cisco Press, Que, Sams, Sun Microsystems Press,
Microsoft Press, IBM Press, MySQL Press, and more.
Stay informed of the latest Safari additions through RSS feeds. Click on the RSS
icon displayed on the home page to find out when new titles are added. Or click
on the RSS feed icon in any specific category to limit new title alerts. Or you
can also create your own customized RSS feed to let you know when specific books
are added to the service.