Recommended Databases
Full text and citations from journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings.
Coverage: 1954 - current
The
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Portal consists of the
ACM Digital Library (DL) and
ACM Guide. The DL is the full-text repository of over
69,000 articles from publications that have been published, co-published, or
co-marketed by ACM and other publishers. The Guide is a collection of
bibliographic citations and abstracts of works published by ACM and other
publishers.
Content covers the areas of computer hardware, software, computer systems
organization, data structures, encryption, coding and information theory,
analysis of algorithms, information systems, artificial intelligence, computer
applications, computers and education, legal aspects of computing, management of
computing and information systems, personal computing.
Technical literature in computer science, electrical engineering, and electronics.
Coverage: 1864 - current
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical
literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text
documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET
(Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. The database contains nearly two million documents
in over 12,000 individual publications published since 1988 plus select content
back to 1952. Through the CrossRef Search feature, IEEE Xplore also provides
access to documents published by other leading publishers. The IEEE
Xplore database contains the following IEEE and IEE publication collections:
Journals, transactions, and magazines published by the IEEE, dating from January
1988, with select content back to 1952.
Conference proceedings published by the IEEE, dating from January 1988, with
select content back to 1953.
IEEE Standards, including superseded standards but not draft standards, dating
from January 1988.
IEE journals, letters, magazines, and conference proceeding from 1988.
Bibliographic citations for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Coverage: 1864 - current
MathSciNet contains over 2 million items, including over
700,000 direct links to original articles, from the American Mathematical
Society journals, Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
Over 60,000 reviews are added to the database each year. Bibliographic data from
retrodigitized articles dates back to 1864. Reference lists are collected and
matched internally from over 300 journals, and citation data for journals,
authors, articles and reviews is provided. The
Top 10 Lists
button located on the Author Citations page and on the Journal Citations page
reveals three tabs giving Top Books, Top Journal Articles, and Top Journals. In
each case, a drop-down menu allows one to select a citing year from the year
2000 through last year. The top 10 books and the top 10 journal articles cited
in the year selected are listed according to number of citations. The top 10
journals are listed according to their Mathematical Citation Quotient (MCQ) for
the selected year.
Nearly 2,000 books, articles, and
videos from premier industry publishers.
Coverage: 2005 - current
Safari Tech Books Online publishers include O'Reilly Media, Addison-Wesley,
Adobe Press, Macromedia Press, Cisco Press, Que, Sams, Sun Microsystems Press,
Microsoft Press, IBM Press, MySQL Press, and more.
Stay informed of the latest Safari additions through RSS feeds. Click on the RSS
icon displayed on the home page to find out when new titles are added. Or click
on the RSS feed icon in any specific category to limit new title alerts. Or you
can also create your own customized RSS feed to let you know when specific books
are added to the service.
Access all of SIAM's Mathematics journals plus the Locus Archive.
Coverage: 1952 - current
The Science and Industry Advance with Mathematics (SIAM) online journal
collection consists of full-text access to 14 titles in applied and
computational mathematics from 1997 to the current issue. In addition, the
Locus Online Journal Archive offers back issue access from 1952 - 1996 for an additional three titles.
Databases
Analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and
identifying the principal contributions in 32 focused disciplines within the
Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Editorial committees comprised of
distinguished scholars in the discipline critically review, synthesize, and
filter the vast amount of primary research in specific disciplines. Each AR
article is written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Each
article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary
research literature referenced within each topic. These AR publications are
among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute
for Scientific Information® (ISI).
Bibliographic records and abstracts of scientic and engineering research.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Engineering Village includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts
from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. It's composed of a combination of several
extensive databases:
Compendex contains bibliographic information and abstracts for
over 175 disciplines and major specialties within engineering and applied
science.
GEOBASE is multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic
information and abstracts for the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human
geography, and oceanography. The database covers approximately 2,000
international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade
publications;
Inspec, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers,
contains over eight million bibliographic records taken from 3,500 scientific
and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings;
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) database from
the U.S. Department of Commerce;
Referex Engineering contains engineering reference titles in
eBook format.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer
509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month.
Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered
branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics,
economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Nearly 1,600 peer-reviewed journals covering many areas of science, medicine, computers, business and more.
Coverage: 1995 - current
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's
science, technology and medical published content. UML has full text access to 1,590 peer-reviewed journals
with citations and detailed abstracts available for over 1,000 other journals.
Apart from the sciences, computer science, mathematics, business and economics are also covered.
In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical
archive of over 6.75 million articles back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections
contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.
SciFinder Scholar is an electronic version of the complete Chemical Abstracts starting from 1907. It provides
access to more than 8000 journal and patent references (from over 32 patent-issuing organizations), and includes
more than 30 million substance records and CAS Registry Numbers. Users can search the chemical literature
(journals and patents) in a variety of ways: author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure
or chemical reaction. The CAS databases are a comprehensive collection of published chemical literature.
The complete Medline database from 1950 on is also searchable through SciFinder Scholar.
Scopus (Elsevier)
New Resource
Abstract and citation database providing research publication analysis.
SciVerse Scopus is touted as the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and
quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. With over 19,000 titles from more
than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers a quick, easy
and comprehensive resource to support the needs of researchers in the scientific, technical, medical and social
sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities. Coverage includes the following:
- 18,500 peer-reviewed journals (including 1,800 Open Access journals).
- 425 trade publications.
- 325 book series.
- 250 conference proceedings.
A
full content coverage guide is available for download.
Access hundreds of journals primarily covering areas of the sciences and health.
Coverage: mostly 1997 - current
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Scientific, technical, and medical content from journals, books, reference
works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library.
Coverage: 1997 - current
Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for
quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific,
technical, medical and professional endeavors with content from journals, books,
reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library,
which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than
half of Wiley's journals on
Wiley InterScience are digitized back to
Volume 1, Issue 1 as part of the development of the journal backfile initiative.
When the initiative is completed in 2007, it will be one of the largest archives
of its kind with content dating back to 1799 and over 1.5 million articles of
scientific and scholarly research.
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
Over 5,000 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1990 - current
Ebsco purchased Netlibrary eBooks in 2010 and came out with a new interface in late-July, 2011.
What was once Netlibrary is now titles simply "eBook Collection." The content is the same, but the interface
replicates all other Ebsco database products. titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table of contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal EBSCOhost login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject
Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies
including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press,
American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical
Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help
analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from
existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.