Recommended Databases
Literary Reference Center contains full text for
27,500 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000
articles/essays of literary criticism, 140,500 author biographies (including
20,000 in-depth bios), 350 literary journals, 535,000 book reviews, 54,000
classic and contemporary poems, 14,500 classic and contemporary short stories,
4,000 author interviews, 8,400 classic texts and much more.
The
Literature Resource Center consists of
Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than
124,000 writers;
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring
entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and
complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95;
and
Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 11,700
biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars.
Other features include over 5,100 explications and overviews of prominent
literary works; links to 4,900 websites focusing on major authors and their
works; over 6,700 timeline events to help place literature in its historical and
social context, 2,300 author portraits; a guide to writing a Modern Language
Association-style research paper; access to the Literary Index, an online
database that indexes the content of all of Thomson Gale's literature products;
and more.
Citations from over 6,000 journals, books, essay collections, bibliographies,
working papers, and dissertations in the fields of language, linguistics,
literature, and folklore.
Coverage: varies by title, oldest is 1980 - current
MLA International Bibliography(produced by the Modern Language
Association), contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals
& series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is
international and includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500
titles and nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of
literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism,
dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of
teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the
bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Databases
Full-text articles from the world's leading journals, newspapers and reference
sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine,
social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the
following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed
academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty
titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of
The
New York Times from 1990,
The Wall Street Journal,
The Washington Post,
Los Angeles Times and
Christian
Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture,
general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry
topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any
National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced
by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the
Census and the State Department are also available.
Full text for nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals, including more than
3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text,
Academic Search Premier offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various
kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
Coverage: Medieval - 20th century
Besides the Main ARTFL Database, resources include French Women Writers,
Provençal poetry, Journal de Trévoux, full-text dictionary searching and the
Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database. Eighteenth, nineteenth and
twentieth century texts are about equally represented, with a smaller selection
of seventeenth century, medieval, and Renaissance texts. Subjects include
literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases
standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into
machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions.
Integrates over 1,000 volumes of Thomson Gale publications with full-text
magazine articles, images, and website links. Search for current or historic
people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and
places, or gender, or by keyword and full text. Marquis Who's Who provides
quick reference information on over 1 million additional people whose
entries have appeared in more than 20 Marquis sources published from 1985 to
the present. Narrative biographies provide an in-depth overview of the
subject's life and accomplishments. Over 538,000 full-text magazine articles
bring coverage of the subject up-to-date and broaden the view of his or her
place in history, society, a particular field of endeavor, or the news
BooksInPrint.com Professional features over 30,000 full-text previews, 140,000
tables of contents, and over 700,000 reviews of titles by over 200,000
publishers. Cover images, author biographies and annotations are just a few of
the many other database benefits.
Search capabilities allow you to combine up to 31 search criteria and now
features BIP ALERT that allows you to save search criteria and receive an e-mail
any time a title is released that matches your previously saved search settings.
Citations for nearly 65,000 essays contained in printed anthologies,
collections, and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great
Britain, and Canada.
Coverage: 1985 - current
More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more
than 20 selected annuals and serial publications. Coverage of social sciences
and the humanities is very broad including subjects such as archaeology,
architecture, art, children's literature, classical studies, drama, economics,
fiction, film, folklore, history, linguistics, music, poetry, political science,
psychology, religion, women's studies and more.
Proporciona indexación, imágenes y el texto completo de compartimientos hispánicos populares -- no apenas traducciones.
Provides indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations.
Coverage: 1987 - current
Informe es una base documental para revistas y artículos en español. Este recurso incluye temas de cultura, salud, política,
entretenimiento, y noticias. Además, el contenido incluye revistas con artículos en ingles y en español.
Informe provides the full text of 50 Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals. Topics include cultural and lifestyle issues,
health and parenting, entertainment, political and current events. Includes Spanish subject guide and titles in English and Spanish.
Bibliographic citations from articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts,
encyclopedia entries and reviews pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
periods.
Coverage: 400-1700
Iter contains more than 935,000 citations collected from over 6,600
publications, including over 1,600 journals. The search interface permits expert
searching by keyword, title, author and, for selected records, by Library of
Congress subject headings and Dewey Decimal Classification. The interface
supports Boolean and positional operators, and allows limiting by language,
publication type and publication year. Results lists can be sorted by author,
subject, title, relevance or publication year. Records can be marked and
conveniently e-mailed or downloaded.
Entries in the
MLA Directory of Periodicals include
frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation
figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and
submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many
articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many
are submitted. Searches can be restricted by contribution policies, circulation,
peer reviewed, book reviews and much more.
Full-text access to all 300 journal titles in the Standard Collection that cover diverse areas of the arts,
humanities, and social sciences.
Coverage: varies (earliest date 1995) - current
The
Project MUSE Standard Collection is particularly strong in literature and history, but also
global in scope with political and social coverage of Africa, Latin America, Asia, Canada, and the Middle East.
View a complete
title list.
Ulrichsweb.com includes scholarly journals, annuals, conference proceedings,
trade publications, newspapers, and electronic publications, deriving data from
over 80,000 US and foreign publishers. Approximately 47,000 discontinued titles
from 1974 onward are included. Complete bibliographic citations, with buying and
ordering information, subject information, abstracting and indexing services,
and URLs to publishers’ Web sites are provided for currently available titles.
Searches can combine 30 criteria that limit by details such as type, feature,
status, language, country,and many others.
Search millions of bibliographic records from combined catalogs of more than
27,000 libraries around the world.
Coverage: Before 1000 BC - current
WorldCat contains all the records cataloged by OCLC
member libraries -- more than 57 million -- for books, manuscripts, maps,
journals and magazines, films and slides, musical scores, sound recordings,
computer programs,articles, chapters, papers, and more. Includes records
representing 400 languages.
Contains biographical/critical essays on the most important living novelists writing in English worldwide.
Coverage: 7th edition 2001
Provides biographical and bibliographical information on 789 of the world's most important contemporary English-language poets.
Coverage: 7th edition 2001
Complete, full-text access to more than 4,100 ebooks covering all major subject
areas, including over 280 titles related to Psychology.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - 2006