Recommended Databases
Full-text articles from the world's leading journals, newspapers and reference
sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine,
social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the
following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed
academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty
titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of
The
New York Times from 1990,
The Wall Street Journal,
The Washington Post,
Los Angeles Times and
Christian
Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture,
general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry
topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any
National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced
by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the
Census and the State Department are also available.
Full text for nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals, including more than
3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text,
Academic Search Premier offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
A comprehensive collection of almost 400,000 bibliographic entries about the history of the
United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Coverage: 1955 - current
America: History & Life is an excellent resource for a variety of disciplines including American History,
Canadian History, Popular Culture, American Studies, Literature/Folklore, Genealogy, Women's Studies/Gender
Studies, Multicultural Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Anthropology, Sociology, History of Science,
Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
CLIO Notes is included in this resource and contains overviews of historical periods and detailed
chronologies for major events and issues of each period.
Citations and abstracts from more than 1,700 journals dealing with the history
of the world from 1450 to the present.
Coverage: 1954 - current
Databases
Over 1500 full text and fully searchable books of major importance, recommended
and reviewed by scholars.
Coverage: 1956 - 2003
The
ACLS HEB collection allows users to perform keyword and Boolean searches, search
full text across all titles in the database, in selected titles, or in a single
title, by author and title as well as by Library of Congress subject headings
for highly accurate results. Users may also search important book reviews.
Search engines allow readers to find text and graphics, and to perform complex
string searches for names, dates, phrases, or concepts in great depth and
context.
New XML titles are enhanced with hypertext links and search features, some with
direct links to web-based digital archives of appropriate source materials so
that the reader can access many of the original source materials used by the
author; and some titles feature enhanced illustrations, graphs, charts, maps,
and other visual materials, often in full color, as well as video, sound, and
music in appropriate titles.
Updated quarterly, with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of
previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency, the ANB
includes thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked
cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
Appended to each article is a descriptive bibliography, which may include
mention of primary sources, the most useful published biographies, articles or
monographs about specific aspects of the person's career, and obituaries.
Includes digitized images of pages from over 1,100 American magazines and
journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Coverage: 1740 - 1940 present, HaPI 1985-Present
APS Online covers three broad periods:
* 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's
transition from a British colony to an independent nation.
* More than 900 titles from the first 60 years of the nineteenth century
showcase "the golden age of American periodicals." General interest magazines,
children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women are among the
historically-significant content.
* 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction
(1865-1877) eras reflect the nation in turmoil and growth, and titles from the
1880s through 1900 capture the settling of the West and the emergence of modern
America.
Integrates over 1,000 volumes of Thomson Gale publications with full-text
magazine articles, images, and website links. Search for current or historic
people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and
places, or gender, or by keyword and full text. Marquis Who's Who provides
quick reference information on over 1 million additional people whose
entries have appeared in more than 20 Marquis sources published from 1985 to
the present. Narrative biographies provide an in-depth overview of the
subject's life and accomplishments. Over 538,000 full-text magazine articles
bring coverage of the subject up-to-date and broaden the view of his or her
place in history, society, a particular field of endeavor, or the news
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Edited
by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary
Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Coverage: 1936 - current
Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works
for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook
offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. Works
reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers
in the disciplines of Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and
Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History,
International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology. Starting
with Volume 54, the Handbook also includes a section on Electronic Resources for
Latin American studies. In addition, some of the earlier volumes included other
disciplines such as Cartography, Film, Folklore, Law, and so forth.
Offers every issue in complete paper–cover-to-cover with full-page and article
images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: March 4, 1872 - Dec. 31, 1924
The Historical Boston Globe covers not only news, editorials, letters to the
editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical
photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Each article and page image is available as searchable ASCII text.
Users can search by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching
techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed
bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title,
publication, issue date, author, page, etc.
An influential black weekly newspaper with cover-to-cover full-page and article
images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: Jul. 31, 1909 - Dec. 31, 1975
Offers every issue in complete paper–cover-to-cover with full-page and article
images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: Sept 18,1851 - Dec 31, 2003
The database covers
The New York Times from its first issue in 1851
through 2002. Coverage includes not only news, editorials, letters to the
editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical
photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
A searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image. Users can search
by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching
techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed
bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title,
publication, issue date, author, page, etc.
Offers every issue in complete paper–cover-to-cover with full-page and article
images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: July 8, 1889 - Dec 31, 1989
The database covers
The Wall Street Journal from its first issue in
1889 through 2003. Coverage includes not only news, editorials, letters to the
editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical
photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
A searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image. Users can search
by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching
techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed
bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title,
publication, issue date, author, page, etc.
Bibliographic citations from articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts,
encyclopedia entries and reviews pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
periods.
Coverage: 400-1700
Iter contains more than 935,000 citations collected from over 6,600
publications, including over 1,600 journals. The search interface permits expert
searching by keyword, title, author and, for selected records, by Library of
Congress subject headings and Dewey Decimal Classification. The interface
supports Boolean and positional operators, and allows limiting by language,
publication type and publication year. Results lists can be sorted by author,
subject, title, relevance or publication year. Records can be marked and
conveniently e-mailed or downloaded.
Full-text access to 144 core scholarly journals covering diverse subject areas
in the liberal arts and sciences.
Coverage: 1863 - 2005
UML has access to these two JSTOR collections:
Arts & Sciences I includes the complete back runs of 119 titles
in fifteen disciplines. It includes many of the core research and society
published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as
well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This
collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented
fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Arts & Sciences IIcontains 125 titles covering economics,
history, and Asian studies. It also offers core journals in several new
disciplines, such as archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle
Eastern, and Slavic studies.
Full text from 25 journals, magazines and newspapers covering general and
regional history, law, government and current events.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Search combined full-text coverage of 14 Massachusetts newspapers including the
Boston Globe,
Boston Herald,
Lowell Sun,
Quincy Patriot Ledger and the
Worcester
Telegram & Gazette, plus selected coverage of other regional sources.
Coverage: varies by title, oldest is 1980 - current
Full-text access to all 300 journal titles in the Standard Collection that cover diverse areas of the arts,
humanities, and social sciences.
Coverage: varies (earliest date 1995) - current
The
Project MUSE Standard Collection is particularly strong in literature and history, but also
global in scope with political and social coverage of Africa, Latin America, Asia, Canada, and the Middle East.
View a complete
title list.