Recommended Databases
Full-text material from 70 journals plus indexing for nearly 3,000 more from the
fields of nursing and allied health.
Coverage: 1982 - current
CINAHL offers complete coverage of English-language
nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the
American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences
librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied
health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care
books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of
practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited
references for more than 1,170 journals are also included. Full text material
includes 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths,
drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Full-text articles on health and medicine from journals, pamphlets, reference
books, and health and fitness magazines.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Access 50 full-text journals in nursing, medicine, and healthcare.
Coverage: varies, most from 1993 to the present
Citations and abstracts with some full text covering medicine, nursing,
veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, dentistry, and much more.
Coverage: 1860 - present
Created by the National Library of Medicine,
MEDLINE
contains over 4 million records covering a broad range of medical topics
relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and
health care services. It uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with
tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations
from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Produced by AARP,
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the
population aged 50+ and issues of aging. It includes aging-related content from
the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public
policy. AgeLine also includes information for professionals working in
aging-related fields and for consumers. AARP generates original abstracts for
every citation, with index terms drawn from AgeLine's Thesaurus of Aging
Terminology. AgeLine indexes over 600 journals, books, book chapters, reports,
dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos. Designed for
researchers, professionals, students, and general consumers, this database
addresses aging issues from individual, national, and global perspectives.
Full-text access to all 11 journals of the American Society for Microbiology.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
Article citations and abstracts from about 6,000 sources including journals,
patents, conference proceedings, books, and reports covering the subjects of
biomedicine, zoology, ecology, biotechnology, veterinary science, and
agriculture.
Coverage: 1982 - current
The
Biological Sciences Collection combines abstracts and citations from
25 individual databases covering research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology
and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting
over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides access to
literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical
reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Contains citations to actual test documents; bibliographic citations to journal
articles which contain information about specific test instruments; and a
catalog of commercial test publishers and their available instruments.
Coverage: 1985 - current
HaPI features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians
that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview
schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and
projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas
such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation.
In addition to medical measurement instruments, HaPI presents tests used in
medically related disciplines including psychology, social work, occupational
therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy.
Synthesizes the most important new developments in safety science and human
factors research.
Coverage: 1981 - current
Drawing on government reports as well as journal articles, conference
proceedings, books, and other publications, Health and Safety Science Abstracts
this database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to
public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help
individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards
across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations. Topics cover
aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical
safety occupational safety, and ergonomics. Health and safety related aspects of
pollution, waste disposal, radiation, pesticides, epidemics - and countless
other phenomena having the potential to threaten the public, the environment, or
the workplace itself - are reported here.
Full-text articles on health, medicine and the biological sciences from 46 journals.
Coverage: varies (as early as 1905) - current
Full-text articles on health and medicine from journals, pamphlets, reference
books, and health and fitness magazines.
Coverage: 1982-1995
Search the entire Ovid collection comprised of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers
and societies. Some full text and abstracts.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing
instruments.
Coverage: 1916 - 2006 (Yearbook 9 - current)
Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced
professionals, the
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series contains
information for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas
as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain
descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited
review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a
test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and
be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. MMY provides coverage
from Volume 9 to the present.
Bibliographic citations and abstracts from more than 1300 journals as well as
books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology and as well as
business, education, law, social work, linguistics, and medicine.
Coverage: 1887 to present
From the American Psychological Association (APA),
PsycINFO contains nearly 2.3
million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters,
books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as
far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The
database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related
fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education,
pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material
selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.
Scientific, medical and technical information online from over 1,200 full-text,
peer-reviewed journals along with hundreds of book series, handbooks and
reference works.
Coverage: 1995 - current
Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles,
monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and
reports information on all areas of toxicology.
Coverage: 1997 - current
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine,
TOXLINE offers bibliographic
citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of
toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental
pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This version of TOXLINE does not
contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International
Pharmaceutical Abstracts.
Over 3,250 items ranging from commercial tests to measures published in journals
and books available at the UML Libraries. Search by test name, author, year,
subject or publisher.
Coverage: 1885 to 1999
Full-text scientific, technical, medical content from journals, books, reference
works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library.
Coverage: 1997 - current
Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for
quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific,
technical, medical and professional endeavors with content from journals, books,
reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library,
which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than
half of Wiley's journals on
Wiley InterScience are digitized back to
Volume 1, Issue 1 as part of the development of the journal backfile initiative.
When the initiative is completed in 2007, it will be one of the largest archives
of its kind with content dating back to 1799 and over 1.5 million articles of
scientific and scholarly research.
This four-volume eBook covers 150 types of alternative medicine practices.
Coverage: 2005, 2nd ed.
This four-volume online encyclopedia from the
Gale Virtual Reference Library identifies 150 types of alternative medicine being
practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic,
Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy. For the
practitioner or interested patient, there are current training requirements, listings of organizations, as well as descriptions
of treatments.
A guide and reference to a wide range of infectious diseases and their causes.
Coverage: Published 1998
Complete, full-text access to more than 4,100 ebooks covering all major subject
areas, including over 280 titles related to Psychology.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - 2006
Full-text access to 8 reference books and dictionaries covering health, medicine, nursing, sports science and more.
Coverage: Publication dates 2001 - 2007