Recommended Databases
Broad collection from leading journals, newspapers and reference sources.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the
following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed
academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty
titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of
The
New York Times from 1990,
The Wall Street Journal,
The Washington Post,
Los Angeles Times and
Christian
Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture,
general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry
topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any
National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced
by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the
Census and the State Department are also available.
Nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals covering most subjects.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text that includes over 3,600 peer-reviewed journals,
Academic Search Premier also offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Access news, business, and legal sources from the U.S. and around the world.
LexisNexis Academic is divided into four catagories that can be
searched individually or in combination:
"News"
provides full-text access to more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around
the world, including the
Financial Times
(dating back to 1982),
The New York Times (dating back to 1980) and
The Washington Post (dating back to 1977); over 300 major magazines and
journals; and broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio
networks.
"Legal" includes primary source material such as case law,
statutes and regulations along with legal news and law reviews for background or
analysis of a legal topic, including access to Shepard's Citations service for all
federal and states court cases back to 1789.
"Business" provides U.S. and international company financial
information, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search
features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income
and number of employees.
"People" offers biographies and obituaries of people in the
news, government, and industry.
Databases
Biographical information about current and historical people.
Biography Resource Center integrates over 1,000 volumes of Thomson Gale publications with full-text
magazine articles, images, and website links. Search for current or historic
people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and
places, or gender, or by keyword and full text.
Marquis Who's Who provides
quick reference information on over 1 million additional people whose
entries have appeared in more than 20 Marquis sources published from 1985 to
the present. Narrative biographies provide an in-depth overview of the
subject's life and accomplishments. Over 538,000 full-text magazine articles
bring coverage of the subject up-to-date and broaden the view of his or her
place in history, society, a particular field of endeavor, or the news.
In-depth, original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Coverage: 1991 - current
CQ Researcher, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc., contains
single-themed, 12,000-word reports researched and written by seasoned
journalists. Each report provides an introductory overview; background and
chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con
statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key
sources. Reports are browsable by topic or date or searchable by keyword.
Magazines, newspapers, books, and thousands of images, and audio/video files.
Coverage: most material 1994 - current
E-Library is especially useful for its teacher tools that
include the Book Cart for reading lists and lesson plans, access to
standards-aligned articles and other resources, plus educator-approved websites
from Homework Central. BookCart functionality allows librarians and educators to
build persistent links to pre-selected content, creating reading lists, subject
and topic pages, standards-linked lessons and activities, community interest
pages, and even pre- or post-assessments. E-Library Reference offers combined
searching of over 30 encyclopdias, almanacs and atlases plus multiple other
resources many of which recommended for the K-12 curriculum level.
Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers, many in full text with images.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Expanded Academic offers balanced coverage on a wide-range of
topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology.
Limit searches by full text, peer-reviews journals, or documents with images.
General interest database integrating newspapers, books, magazines, and more.
Coverage: 1980 - current
General Reference Center Gold integrates more than 19-million
articles covering general interest and key business topics from national news
magazines and encyclopedias to core business journals. It also contains more
than 15 reference books covering literature, science, history, and biography as
well as the
Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and the
World Almanac and
Book of Facts.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer
509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month.
Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered
branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics,
economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Combined coverage of 14 Massachusetts newspapers such as the Globe and Lowell Sun.
Coverage: varies by title, oldest is 1980 - current
ProQuest Newsstand offers full-text coverage of major Massachusetts newspapers including the Boston Globe,
Boston Herald, Lowell Sun, Quincy Patriot Ledger and the Worcester Telegram & Gazette, plus selected coverage of other
regional sources. Detailed indexing helps researchers quickly find the news information they need. The indexing
covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic
areas. Not only are top news stories indexed, but also detailed information on the arts, sports,
business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters
to the editor from well know people are indexed.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
24 encyclopedias and
specialized reference sources.
Coverage: Publication dates 1999 - 2006
GVRL simultaneous searching across 25 reference titles in
subjects covering the Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, History,
Literature, Medicine, Science, and Social Science.
Over 4,400 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - current
NetLibrary eBook titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table or contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
Hundreds of Oxford Companion reference books covering most subjects.
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a huge and comprehensive
resource that contains over 170 dictionaries and reference titles covering the
complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and
Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Search either the entire site or any of the 19 subject-specific collections.
Also included are collections of quotation reference books, map images, and
timelines broken down by theme or country.
48 encyclopedias and handbooks covering the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Coverage: Publication dates 2002 - 2008
Sage eReference titles, including the
Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods,
can be searched together or separately by keyword or browsed by subject. Individual
titles have a Reader's Guide that combines entries into thematic categories. You can also limit searches by images, tables,
or sidebars. Subjects covered include African American Studies, Anthropology, Business and
Management, Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, Health, History, Politics, Psychology, Research Methods,
Social Issues, Sociology, and much more.