Recommended Databases
Bibliographic records and abstracts of scientic and engineering research.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Engineering Village includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts
from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. It's composed of a combination of several
extensive databases:
Compendex contains bibliographic information and abstracts for
over 175 disciplines and major specialties within engineering and applied
science.
GEOBASE is multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic
information and abstracts for the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human
geography, and oceanography. The database covers approximately 2,000
international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade
publications;
Inspec, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers,
contains over eight million bibliographic records taken from 3,500 scientific
and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings;
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) database from
the U.S. Department of Commerce;
Referex Engineering contains engineering reference titles in
eBook format.
Over 1,000 handbooks and references from CRC press.
EngNetBase covers all fields of engineering with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and
late-breaking developments. Full text of all material can be searched by key word or browsed by topic. Books can be downloaded
in their entirety as a PDF document and saved locally.
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject
Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies
including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press,
American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical
Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help
analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from
existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.
Includes access to all ACM journals, proceedings, newsletters and more.
Coverage: 1985 - current
The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Portal consists of the
ACM
Digital Library and
ACM Guide. The DL is the full-text repository of over
69,000 articles from publications that have been published, co-published, or
co-marketed by ACM and other publishers. The Guide is a collection of
bibliographic citations and abstracts of works published by ACM and other
publishers.
Content covers the areas of computer hardware, software, computer systems
organization, data structures, encryption, coding and information theory,
analysis of algorithms, information systems, artificial intelligence, computer
applications, computers and education, legal aspects of computing, management of
computing and information systems, personal computing.
35 prestigious journals published by the American Chemical Society in addition to its weekly newsmagazine.
Coverage: 1879 - current
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications provides searchable access to over
130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000
articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to
the introduction of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879.
Analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and
identifying the principal contributions in 32 focused disciplines within the
Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Editorial committees comprised of
distinguished scholars in the discipline critically review, synthesize, and
filter the vast amount of primary research in specific disciplines. Each AR
article is written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Each
article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary
research literature referenced within each topic. These AR publications are
among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute
for Scientific Information® (ISI).
Access 30 journals plus an online journal archive.
Coverage: 1990 - currrent
ASCE Journals are the premier source of technical information for the civil engineering profession and
form the core collection in the field — 30 journals available in print and online. The online journal
archive contains over 28,000 articles, more than 300,000 pages, published since 1990.
The ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles
from ASCE Journals and Proceedings. Approximately 4,000 new papers will be added each year.
Access all 21 of ASME's Transactions Journals.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
ASME promotes the art, science & practice of mechanical & multidisciplinary engineering and
allied sciences around the globe. It's Digital Library features over 13,000 journal articles along with
conferernce proceedings, book, and other content. UML users have unlimited access to the journal content only.
A multi-disciplinary forum for the applied sciences and engineering.
Coverage:1973 - current
The ASTM
Journal of Testing and Evaluation (JOTE) presents new technical information, derived from field and
laboratory testing, on the performance, quantitative characterization, and evaluation of materials. Papers
present new methods and data along with critical evaluations; report users' experience with test methods and
results of interlaboratory testing and analysis; and stimulate new ideas in the fields of testing and evaluation.
Major topic areas are fatigue and fracture, mechanical testing, and fire testing. Also publishes review articles,
technical notes, research briefs and commentary. All papers are peer-reviewed.
View, download, and print any of 12,000+ ASTM standards.
ASTM International is one of the largest voluntary standards development
organizations in the world-a trusted source for technical standards for
materials, products, systems, and services. Known for their high technical
quality and market relevancy, ASTM International standards have an important
role in the information infrastructure that guides design, manufacturing and
trade in the global economy.
Research, properties, and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composites.
Coverage: Mostly 1986-current
Engineered Materials Abstracts includes the following
subfiles with combined coverage of over 3,000 periodicals, conference
proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books,
and press releases:
Advanced Polymers Abstracts-- captures technical
information about the uses, manufacturing, and properties of thermoset and
thermoplastic resins.
Composites Industry Abstracts -- focuses on polymers
and ceramics reinforced with fibers, honeycombs, whiskers and laminates.
Engineered Materials Abstracts, Ceramics -- captures
complete worldwide information about ceramics.
Polymer Library (formerly Rapra Abstracts) --
information on rubbers, plastics, adhesives and polymeric composites.
Technical literature in computer science, electrical engineering, and electronics.
Coverage: 1864 - current
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical
literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text
documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET
(Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. The database contains nearly two million documents
in over 12,000 individual publications published since 1988 plus select content
back to 1952. Through the CrossRef Search feature, IEEE Xplore also provides
access to documents published by other leading publishers. The IEEE
Xplore database contains the following IEEE and IEE publication collections:
Journals, transactions, and magazines published by the IEEE, dating from January
1988, with select content back to 1952.
Conference proceedings published by the IEEE, dating from January 1988, with
select content back to 1953.
IEEE Standards, including superseded standards but not draft standards, dating
from January 1988.
IEE journals, letters, magazines, and conference proceeding from 1988.
One-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Coverage: 2006, 14th ed.
The
Merck Index Online is the internationally recognized encyclopedia of
chemical substances, including human and veterinary drugs, biologicals and
natural products. It contains more than 10,000 monographs, 32 supplemental
tables and 450 Organic Name Reactions. The information provided includes
chemical, common and generic names, trademarks and their associated companies,
CAS Registry Numbers, molecular formulas and weights, physical and toxicity
data, therapeutic and commercial uses, chemical structures and selected
literature references for each substance. Compounds are indexed by Name,
Formulae, CAS Registry Number and Therapeutic Category/Biological Activity.
Access complete runs of all journals and conference papers published by OSA.
Coverage: varies, 1917 - current
Optics InfoBase offers complete full-text access to all OSA's publications dating back to 1917.
The search engine includes advanced features such as topical clustering. In addition, the site offers browsing
by subject, automatic reference linking between articles, TOC alerts, RSS feeds, and citation export.
Complete archive of physics journals from the American Physical Society.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
The complete archive consists of all of
Physical Review back to
1893, all of
Physical Review Letters back to 1958, and all of
Reviews of Modern Physics back to 1929. The majority of the collection
consists of scanned images of the printed journals available as either GIF
images or as PDF files. Portions of the 1995 and 1996 content and all content
thereafter, however, consist of PDF files that are produced directly as part of
our paper printing process.
Abstracts covering rubbers, plastics, adhesives and polymeric composites.
Coverage: 1972 - current
Source material for
Polymer Library is selected from more than
500 journals in a wide range of languages from 30 different countries including
North America, Australia, Europe, Japan, and China. Source material is also
collected from books, technical reports and trade literature. In 1994, patent
information relating to rubber and plastics industries was added to the
database.
Nearly 1,600 peer-reviewed journals covering many areas of science, medicine, computers, business and more.
Coverage: 1995 - current
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's
science, technology and medical published content. UML has full text access to 1,590 peer-reviewed journals
with citations and detailed abstracts available for over 1,000 other journals.
Apart from the sciences, computer science, mathematics, business and economics are also covered.
In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical
archive of over 6.75 million articles back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections
contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.
Access all of SIAM's Mathematics journals plus the Locus Archive.
Coverage: 1952 - current
The
Science and Industry Advance with Mathematics (SIAM) online journal
collection consists of full-text access to 14 titles in applied and
computational mathematics from 1997 to the current issue. In addition, the Locus Online Journal Archive
offers back issue access from 1952 - 1996 for an additional three titles.
A collection of toxicology and environmental health databases.
TOXNET is a free U.S. government collection of databases that can be used to locate
toxicology data, literature references, and toxic release information on particular chemicals as well as to
search to identify chemicals that cause specific effects. TOXNET offers a
variety of ways to display and sort information. Its "Multi-Databases" feature
provides an integrated search of any or all of several databases (HSDB, IRIS,
CCRIS, GENE-TOX). Its "Search All Databases" feature provides a list of TOXNET
databases in which a search term is found, each paired with the retrieval record
count and with links to the Search Results page of those databases.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Scientific, technical, and medical content from journals, books, reference
works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library.
Coverage: 1997 - current
Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for
quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific,
technical, medical and professional endeavors with content from journals, books,
reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library,
which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than
half of Wiley's journals on
Wiley InterScience are digitized back to
Volume 1, Issue 1 as part of the development of the journal backfile initiative.
When the initiative is completed in 2007, it will be one of the largest archives
of its kind with content dating back to 1799 and over 1.5 million articles of
scientific and scholarly research.