Recommended Databases
Full text journal articles, books, and conference papers.
Coverage: Full-Text: 1972-Current, Indexing: 1914-Current
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all
educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete
provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals,
and includes full text for more than 500 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Offers premier reference sources with hundreds of journals related to education.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Educator's Reference Complete provides full-text results for
nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. With nearly 7 million articles,
this database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and
every educational specialty such as technology, bilingual education, health
education, and testing. It also focuses on issues in administration, funding and policy.
Citations and abstracts with some full text covering education-related topics.
Coverage: 1966 - current
The
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is
sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to
educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles,
conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports,
audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. It also
offers users access to many of the ERIC documents no longer available online in
the UML ERIC microfiche from 1972 to 2003.
Content from over 600 top educational publications.
Coverage: 1991 - current
ProQuest Education Journals offers complete text and images from journals covering not only the literature on primary,
secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Image articles
include all the charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements often used to enhance the editorial value of articles that focus on
education topics.
Nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals covering most subjects.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text that includes over 3,600 peer-reviewed journals,
Academic Search Premier also offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and
identifying the principal contributions in 32 focused disciplines within the
Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Editorial committees comprised of
distinguished scholars in the discipline critically review, synthesize, and
filter the vast amount of primary research in specific disciplines. Each AR
article is written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Each
article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary
research literature referenced within each topic. These AR publications are
among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute
for Scientific Information® (ISI).
The top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
Coverage: September 1989 - current
The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue;
daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; vibrant
discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online Curriculum vitæ
management, salary databases, and more.
A collection of books, journals, reference works, and conference materials.
The
CogNet Library is a growing, searchable collection of books, journals,
reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference materials. Content and
resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional
associations, institutions, and individuals who are willing to share public
access to online work:
* Full-text of 6 MIT Press journals plus searchable abstracts of over 30
journals from other publishers.
* Full-text of 7 major reference works from the MIT Press.
* Over 450 full-text books in cognitive science from The MIT Press are
included.
* Links to relevant MIT OpenCourseWare in the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
* On-demand video relevant to the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
In addition, CogNet contains a growing variety of helpful academic information:
News, Profiles of Graduate Programs, Graduate Application information and
Funding Resources, Conference Schedules, Conference Proceedings, Virtual poster
sessions, Calls for Papers, Seminar Series, and Job Listings.
Over 750,000 full text dissertations with abstracts for over two million.
Coverage: 1861 - current
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written
by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts.
Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861, and
more than 60,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Over 1.9
million dissertations and theses are available from the UMI vaults on microfilm
or in hardcopy, and researchers can preview many recent titles electronically.
Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In
addition, more than 750,000 are available for download in PDF format (Digital
dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting
institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
Magazines, newspapers, books, and thousands of images, and audio/video files.
Coverage: most material 1994 - current
E-Library is especially useful for its teacher tools that
include the Book Cart for reading lists and lesson plans, access to
standards-aligned articles and other resources, plus educator-approved websites
from Homework Central. BookCart functionality allows librarians and educators to
build persistent links to pre-selected content, creating reading lists, subject
and topic pages, standards-linked lessons and activities, community interest
pages, and even pre- or post-assessments. E-Library Reference offers combined
searching of over 30 encyclopdias, almanacs and atlases plus multiple other
resources many of which recommended for the K-12 curriculum level.
Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers, many in full text with images.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Expanded Academic offers balanced coverage on a wide-range of
topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology.
Limit searches by full text, peer-reviews journals, or documents with images.
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer
509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month.
Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered
branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics,
economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
Coverage: mid-1960s - current
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) subject coverage includes
librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and
more.
Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
Coverage: 1916 - 2006 (Yearbook 9 - current)
Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced
professionals, the
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)series contains
information for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas
as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain
descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited
review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a
test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and
be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. MMY provides coverage
from Volume 9 to the present.
This Magna newsletter covers developments in online education.
Coverage: 2003 - current
Besides
Online Classroom, also available on this site
are
Academic Leader and
The Teaching Professor.
Academic Leader examines current trends, challenges and best
practices, helping to advance academic teaching, scholarship and service.
The Teaching Professor newsletter
provides pedagogic insights and ideas.
Content from journals, books, dissertations, and reports related to psychology.
Coverage: 1887 to present
From the American Psychological Association (APA),
PsycINFO contains nearly 2.3
million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters,
books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as
far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The
database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related
fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education,
pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material
selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.
Over 500 journals covering health, social sciences, education, business and more.
Coverage: 1999 - current
The
Sage Premier eJournal Collection is particularly strong in areas of Health Care and Social Sciences,
but also covers the Life Sciences (biochemistry, endocrinology, neuroscience, and pharmacology);
the Physical Sciences (computer science, engineering, and materias science); Economics, Management, and Business;
and the Humanities (music, religion, international studies and language studies).
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines.
Coverage: 1895 to present
SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 1,910,000 records with subject
headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus, including full text for 397
"core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage
journals, more than 720 books and monographs, and 6,743 conference papers. It
also contains informative abstracts for more than 815 "core" coverage journals
dating as far back as 1895. In addition, it features over 10,000 Author Profiles
covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors
in the database. Each author profile includes biographical data and
bibliographic information, which together allow users to quickly ascertain an
author's areas of expertise and academic/professional focus.
Content from journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers.
Coverage: 1952-Current
CSA's
Sociological Abstracts offers full text from 140 journals covering sociology and social work
plus abstracts and indexes for articles from over 1,800 international serials along with books,
book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Over 40% of titles are published outside North
America with over 20% of content published in languages other than English. 124
of the 140 full-text journals are refereed, including of the 129 ISI rated
journals in sociology and social work. Deep archiving dates as far back as the
1920s for some titles.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Commercial tests and measures from journals and books available in UML Libraries.
Coverage: 1885 to 1999
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
4-Volumes covering issues, trends, and technologies related to distance learning.
Coverage: Published 2005
The Encyclopedia of Distance Learning contains more than 2,000 terms, definitions and explanations of
concepts, processes and technologies of distance learning with over 6,000 additional references to existing literature on
distance learning and technologies. Over 400 leading scholars from over 35 countries have provided this extensive coverage
on topics such as workforce training, accessing education, digital divide, and the evolution of distance and online
education.
Covers issues, methods, and theories about literacy and technology at k-12 level.
Coverage: Publication date 2005
Over 50 international experts have combined their research and practical experience into 35 all-inclusive chapters,
redefining the way teaching and learning is dispensed. This online volume contains over 260 key terms with detailed
definitions plus more than 1,300 comprehensive references to existing literature and research on literacy and technology.
Over 4,400 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - current
NetLibrary eBook titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table or contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
48 encyclopedias and handbooks covering the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Coverage: Publication dates 2002 - 2008
Sage eReference titles, including the
Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods,
can be searched together or separately by keyword or browsed by subject. Individual
titles have a Reader's Guide that combines entries into thematic categories. You can also limit searches by images, tables,
or sidebars. Subjects covered include African American Studies, Anthropology, Business and
Management, Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, Health, History, Politics, Psychology, Research Methods,
Social Issues, Sociology, and much more.