Over 1,500 books of major importance, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Coverage: 1956 - 2003
The ACLS HEB collection allows users to perform keyword and Boolean searches, search
full text across all titles in the database, in selected titles, or in a single
title, by author and title as well as by Library of Congress subject headings
for highly accurate results. Users may also search important book reviews.
Search engines allow readers to find text and graphics, and to perform complex
string searches for names, dates, phrases, or concepts in great depth and
context.
New XML titles are enhanced with hypertext links and search features, some with
direct links to web-based digital archives of appropriate source materials so
that the reader can access many of the original source materials used by the
author; and some titles feature enhanced illustrations, graphs, charts, maps,
and other visual materials, often in full color, as well as video, sound, and
music in appropriate titles.
Nearly 2,000 classic works of French literature and non-fiction.
Coverage: Medieval - 20th century
Free access to reference books, fiction, nonfiction, and verse, featuring the Columbia Encyclopedia and
American Heritage Dictionary.
Bartleby contains a wealth of freely accessible content, including the complete 70 volumes of the Harvard Classics
and Shlef of Fiction, the Oxford Shakespeare, several collections of quotations, Gray's anatomy, King James Bible,
World Factbook, and much, much more.
Free access to over 1,300 ebooks presented in an interactive framework that allows readers to
share comments and enter into discussions with other readers.
The creators of BookGlutton set out to create an experience that was "simultaneously a book group, a computer, and a book."
Believing that many readers naturally have a desire to comment on and discuss what they are reading, BookGlutton provides that
opportunity by allowing readers to write and share comments on passages of a book while they are reading,
react to comments left by other readers, or engage in a live chat session with other users reading the same book.
Access to Chapman & Hall/CRC’s premier chemistry references, with all
of their facts, formulas, tables, illustrations, and references.
CHEMnetBASE offers the following resources. Each product is a separate entity
and can only be searched on its own.
Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) - combines the
following titles into one searchable database:
Dictionary of Commonly Cited
Compounds,
Dictionary of Drugs (Formerly Pharmasource),
Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds,
Dictionary of
Natural Products,
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, now in its 87th
Ed. - with the most heavily used tables updated and expanded.
Polymers: A Property Database - is fully searchable
and offers the ability to produce tables customized to user preference.
Properties of Organic Compounds - contains over 29,000
of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral
data, and structures.
Nearly 500 titles from MIT Press on the topics of Psychology, Cognitive Science, Neuroscience, Linguistics,
and much more.
Coverage: Publication dates 1992 - current
The
CogNet Library is a growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference
materials. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions,
and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work:
* Full-text of 6 MIT Press journals plus searchable abstracts of over 30 journals from other publishers.
* Full-text of 7 major reference works from the MIT Press.
* Over 450 full-text books in cognitive science from The MIT Press are included.
* Links to relevant MIT OpenCourseWare in the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
* On-demand video relevant to the Brain and Cognitive Sciences.
In addition, CogNet contains a growing variety of helpful academic information: News, Profiles of Graduate Programs,
Graduate Application information and Funding Resources, Conference Schedules, Conference Proceedings, Virtual poster sessions,
Calls for Papers, Seminar Series, and Job Listings.
100 full-text reference resources covering most academic subject areas.
Credo Reference aggregates authoritative high-quality reference works for online delivery to libraries worldwide.
UMass Lowell subscribes to 100 reference titles in Credo, with over 600 thousand entries, all fully
integrated and intelligently cross-linked. Reference resources include Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and atlases.
Subjects covered in particular are history, health, world politics and culture, social sciences, music, literature, biology,
education, and religion.
Over 1,000 handbooks and references from CRC press.
EngNetBase covers all fields of engineering with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and
late-breaking developments. Full text of all material can be searched by key word or browsed by topic. Books can be downloaded
in their entirety as a PDF document and saved locally.
24 encyclopedias and
specialized reference sources.
Coverage: Publication dates 1999 - 2006
GVRL simultaneous searching across 25 reference titles in
subjects covering the Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, History,
Literature, Medicine, Science, and Social Science.
View and preview over 7 million digitized books and download over one million.
The Google Book Search service enables users to search full text books that Google scans primarily from major academic and public
libraries from around the world. Google Books also presents content from authors and publishers who participate in
Google's Partner Program. For these books, the partners decide how much of the book is browsable -- anywhere from a
few sample pages to the whole book. For books that enter Google Books through the Library Project, amount of access
depends on the book's copyright status. Over a million books are public-domain works or other out-of-copyright material
that is available to be downloaded in PDF format.
Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.
Coverage: Current Edition
Multi-volume reference works covering education, literacy, and technology.
Coverage: Publication dates 2005 - 2006
IGI Global’s book and reference collection contains full-text articles and chapters
covering research, trends, technologies, and challenges in the fields of distance education, literacy,
multimedia technology, and computer interaction. Online access includes all content from the print edition,
structured as a database of individual chapters with abstract and indexing records for enhanced search
functionality and ease of use for printing or downloading.
Free full-text access to nearly 1,500,000 digital books available to download.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent
access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996, the
Internet Archive now includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages. The Archive also hosts the
multilingual digitized text collection of the Open Content Alliance (OCA). The OCA is world-wide, non-profit, collaborative
digital publishing venture that includes participation from UML and other Boston Library Consortium members.
Articles on chemical substances— their properties, manufacturing, and uses.
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical
Technology presents a wide scope of over 1,000 articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses.
It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals
and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are
also addressed. Monthly updates keep the online version on the cutting edge of chemical technology.
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject
Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies
including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press,
American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical
Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help
analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from
existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.
One-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Coverage: 2006, 14th ed.
The
Merck Index Online is the internationally recognized encyclopedia of
chemical substances, including human and veterinary drugs, biologicals and
natural products. It contains more than 10,000 monographs, 32 supplemental
tables and 450 Organic Name Reactions. The information provided includes
chemical, common and generic names, trademarks and their associated companies,
CAS Registry Numbers, molecular formulas and weights, physical and toxicity
data, therapeutic and commercial uses, chemical structures and selected
literature references for each substance. Compounds are indexed by Name,
Formulae, CAS Registry Number and Therapeutic Category/Biological Activity.
Complete digitized content of over 70 biomedical books.
Coverage: most published from 1999 - current
The
NCBI Bookshelf is a growing collection of freely accessible online biomedical books. Titles cover aspects of molecular
biology, biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, microbiology, research methods, and virology. The book content can be searched
directly or accessed through links within PubMed (MedLine).
Hundreds of Oxford Companion reference books covering most subjects.
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a huge and comprehensive
resource that contains over 170 dictionaries and reference titles covering the
complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and
Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Search either the entire site or any of the 19 subject-specific collections.
Also included are collections of quotation reference books, map images, and
timelines broken down by theme or country.
New 2008 8-volume 2nd edition with additional online quarterly updates.
Originally published in 1894 and later revised in 1923 and again as a "New" four-volume set in 1987, the Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
has continuously drawn together eminent contributors from across the spectrum of methodological and ideological schools to produce
an consistently valuable work of reference that has contained many individual classic essays of enduring importance. In 2008,
Palgrave Macmillan published The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume.
While some classic articles from the 1987 were retained, around 80% of the text was either entirely new or substantially rewritten
to reflect the depth of change within the discipline between the editions. This new edition retains the tradition of bringing together
the world's most influential economists (including 25 Nobel Laureates in Economics) writing in their own voice on their areas of expertise,
but in its online incarnation it has married this tradition with the benefits of a dynamic resource that is updated on a quarterly basis.
Includes most scholarly titles published by American Psychological Association.
Coverage: 1953 to 2006
PsycBOOKS contains more than 16,000 chapters in PDF
from over 1,000 books published by American Psychological Association (APA) and
other distinguished publishers. It also includes 100 out-of-print books
and a total of more than 400 classic books of landmark historical impact in
psychology along with more than 1,500 authored
entries from the APA/Oxford University Press
Encyclopedia of Psychology.
PsycBOOKS is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA’s Thesaurus of
Psychological Index Terms.
Nearly 2,000 books, articles, and
videos from premier industry publishers.
Coverage: 2005 - current
Over 160 encyclopedias and handbooks covering the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Coverage: Publication dates 2002 - 2010
Sage eReference titles, including the
Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods,
can be searched together or separately by keyword or browsed by subject. Individual
titles have a Reader's Guide that combines entries into thematic categories. You can also limit searches by images, tables,
or sidebars. Subjects covered include African American Studies, Anthropology, Business and
Management, Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, Health, History, Politics, Psychology, Research Methods,
Social Issues, Sociology, and much more.
80 authoritative, interdisciplinary handbooks across the social sciences.
This Handbook Collection contains 80 authoritative, award–winning, international, and interdisciplinary handbooks
across the social sciences. This Collection is hosted on SAGE Reference Online and increases the content on the
platform to more than 160 titles while offering enhanced functionality.
Safari Tech Books Online publishers include O'Reilly Media, Addison-Wesley,
Adobe Press, Macromedia Press, Cisco Press, Que, Sams, Sun Microsystems Press,
Microsoft Press, IBM Press, MySQL Press, and more.
Stay informed of the latest Safari additions through RSS feeds. Click on the RSS
icon displayed on the home page to find out when new titles are added. Or click
on the RSS feed icon in any specific category to limit new title alerts. Or you
can also create your own customized RSS feed to let you know when specific books
are added to the service.
Hazard information on substances encountered in the workplace, Volumes 1-3
This Eleventh edition includes comprehensive hazard information on the substances encountered in the workplace.
Over two-thirds of the entries have been revised for this edition, and 10% of the 25,962 entries are new to this
volume. Numerous synonyms have been added to assist in locating the many materials that are known under a
variety of systematic and common names. The synonym cross-index contains 141,700 entries consisting of the
entry name as well as each synonym. This index should be consulted first to locate a material by name.
Over 1,100 additional entries have had physical and chemical properties added. Whenever
available, physical descriptions, formulas, molecular weights, melting points, boiling points, explosion limits,
flash points, densities, autoignition temperatures, and the like have been supplied.