Recommended Databases
Abstracts from journals, books, reports, and dissertations related to criminology.
Coverage: 1968 - current
Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime
prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police,
courts, punishment and sentencing. The database contains indexes and summaries
of international journal articles, books, dissertations, and governmental and non-governmental
reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
Indexing and full text across a wide range of Criminal Justice subjects.
Coverage: 1972-Current (Indexing) 1977-Current (Full Text)
ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. The database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text.
These 23 journals are now accessible through the Sage Premier Journal Collection.
Coverage: 1999 - current
The Sage Premier Journal Collection provides over 500 high-quality scholarly journals from
SAGE Publications. Coverage is strong in the fields of communication studies, criminology, education,
health sciences, management & organization studies, materials science, political science, psychology,
sociology, and urban studies.
Full text from over 180 international journals covering sociology and social work.
Coverage: 1986 - current
ProQuest Sociology contains full text from nearly 300 Scholarly Journals offering international coverage of subject related
to Sociology and Social Work. Full-text includes core titles from the ProQuest Sociological Abstracts and Social Services
Abstracts databases. Subjects covered include Community and mental health services, Crisis intervention, family and
social welfare, Poverty and homelessness, culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology,
substance abuse and addiction and more.
Databases
Analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and
identifying the principal contributions in 32 focused disciplines within the
Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Editorial committees comprised of
distinguished scholars in the discipline critically review, synthesize, and
filter the vast amount of primary research in specific disciplines. Each AR
article is written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Each
article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary
research literature referenced within each topic. These AR publications are
among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute
for Scientific Information® (ISI).
Authoritative coverage of local, national and international news.
Coverage: September 1980 - current
Access to full-text coverage of the
Boston Globe through
detailed indexing that covers not only complete bibliographic information but
also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. In addition,
items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the
editor from well-known people are also made easily accessible through the
searchable index.
Information related to child welfare, abuse, neglect, and adoption.
Coverage: 1965 - current
Child Welfare Information Gateway provides access to print and electronic publications, websites,
and online databases covering a wide range of topics related to child welfare, child abuse and neglect,
and adoption, search and reunion, and much more.
A national service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services, Child Welfare Information Gateway consolidates and expands upon the services
formerly provided by the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse and the National Clearinghouse
on Child Abuse and Neglect Information.
Citations and abstracts with some full text covering education-related topics.
Coverage: 1966 - current
The
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is
sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to
educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles,
conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports,
audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. It also
offers users access to many of the ERIC documents no longer available online in
the UML ERIC microfiche from 1972 to 2003.
Over 6,000 full-length documentary streaming videos.
Films On Demand allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7!
Choose from more than 6,000 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the
ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire
collection through an administrative reporting system.
Full access to more than 7,500 Social Science related research studies.
The ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research)is an international
consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations that provides leadership
and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research
community. As a member of the ICPSR, UML faculty, staff, and students receive full direct access to
the data archive and to all of ICPSR's services.These include data downloads from over 7,500 research
studies from 16 specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse,
terrorism, and other fields; data enhancements, including SAS, SPSS and Stata files to facilitate
analysis; online analysis components for selected data collections using Survey Documentation Analysis
(SDA); and teaching tools that provide dozens of online data-driven learning guides to enhance the
teaching of core concepts in the social sciences.
Access news, business, and legal sources from the U.S. and around the world.
LexisNexis Academic is divided into four catagories that can be
searched individually or in combination:
"News"
provides full-text access to more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around
the world, including the
Financial Times
(dating back to 1982),
The New York Times (dating back to 1980) and
The Washington Post (dating back to 1977); over 300 major magazines and
journals; and broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio
networks.
"Legal" includes primary source material such as case law,
statutes and regulations along with legal news and law reviews for background or
analysis of a legal topic, including access to Shepard's Citations service for all
federal and states court cases back to 1789.
"Business" provides U.S. and international company financial
information, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search
features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income
and number of employees.
"People" offers biographies and obituaries of people in the
news, government, and industry.
Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
Coverage: 1916 - 2006 (Yearbook 9 - current)
Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced
professionals, the
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)series contains
information for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas
as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain
descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited
review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a
test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and
be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. MMY provides coverage
from Volume 9 to the present.
Abstracts of publications in the fields of law and criminal justice.
Coverage: 1970 - current
NCJRS contains summaries of more than 190,000 publications including books, government reports, research reports, and unpublished research.
It also includes content from 189 journals, including 12 with core coverage.
Access 66 full-text journals in nursing, medicine, and healthcare.
Coverage: varies, most from 1993 to the present
Access full-text articles from 66 journals covering nursing, medicine, healthcare, psychology and the
biological sciences. Ovid searches can be limited to either the full Ovid collection that includes mostly content
unavailable to UML users or the UML collection that includes 66 journals with complete full-text coverage from 1996.
Recently added to the Ovid website is the ability to create your own personal user account that allows you to
securely store searches and personalized AutoAlerts as well as perform multiple searches and store them separately
using identification codes.
Hundreds of Oxford Companion reference books covering most subjects.
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a huge and comprehensive
resource that contains over 170 dictionaries and reference titles covering the
complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and
Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Search either the entire site or any of the 19 subject-specific collections.
Also included are collections of quotation reference books, map images, and
timelines broken down by theme or country.
Content from journals, books, dissertations, and reports related to psychology.
Coverage: 1887 to present
From the American Psychological Association (APA),
PsycINFO contains nearly 2.3
million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters,
books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as
far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The
database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related
fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education,
pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material
selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.
Abstracts from journals and dissertations with full text from 140 journals.
Coverage: 1979-Current
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas,
including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials
publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Content from journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers.
Coverage: 1952-Current
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and
behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+
serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Commercial tests and measures from journals and books available in UML Libraries.
Coverage: 1885 to 1999
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
Over 5,000 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1990 - current
Ebsco purchased Netlibrary eBooks in 2010 and came out with a new interface in late-July, 2011.
What was once Netlibrary is now titles simply "eBook Collection." The content is the same, but the interface
replicates all other Ebsco database products. titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table of contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal EBSCOhost login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.
6 guides and dictionaries covering U.S. and international law.
Coverage: Publication dates 2000 - 2006
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 170 dictionaries and reference titles
covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and
Social Sciences to Business and Professional. Search either the entire site or any of the 19 subject-specific collections. Also
included are collections of quotation reference books, map images, and timelines broken down by theme or country.
Over 160 encyclopedias and handbooks covering the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Coverage: Publication dates 2002 - 2010
Sage eReference titles, including the
Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods,
can be searched together or separately by keyword or browsed by subject. Individual
titles have a Reader's Guide that combines entries into thematic categories. You can also limit searches by images, tables,
or sidebars. Subjects covered include African American Studies, Anthropology, Business and
Management, Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, Health, History, Politics, Psychology, Research Methods,
Social Issues, Sociology, and much more.