Recommended Databases
Full-text access to 35 prestigious journals published by the American Chemical
Society in addition to its weekly newsmagazine.
Coverage: 1879 - currrent
CHEMnetBASE offers the following resources. Each product is a separate entity
and can only be searched on its own.
Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) - combines the
following titles into one searchable database:
Dictionary of Commonly Cited
Compounds,
Dictionary of Drugs (Formerly Pharmasource),
Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds,
Dictionary of
Natural Products,
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, now in its 87th
Ed. - with the most heavily used tables updated and expanded.
Polymers: A Property Database - is fully searchable
and offers the ability to produce tables customized to user preference.
Properties of Organic Compounds - contains over 29,000
of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral
data, and structures.
Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds,
now in its 88th Ed.
Coverage: 88TH Edition, 2007-2008
Citations and abstracts dedicated exclusively to information on rubbers,
plastics, adhesives and polymeric composites.
Coverage: 1972 - current
Source material for
Polymer Library is selected from more than
500 journals in a wide range of languages from 30 different countries including
North America, Australia, Europe, Japan, and China. Source material is also
collected from books, technical reports and trade literature. In 1994, patent
information relating to rubber and plastics industries was added to the
database.
Scientific, medical and technical information online from over 1,200 full-text,
peer-reviewed journals along with hundreds of book series, handbooks and
reference works.
Coverage: 1995 - current
Full-text scientific, technical, medical content from journals, books, reference
works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library.
Coverage: 1997 - current
Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for
quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific,
technical, medical and professional endeavors with content from journals, books,
reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library,
which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than
half of Wiley's journals on
Wiley InterScience are digitized back to
Volume 1, Issue 1 as part of the development of the journal backfile initiative.
When the initiative is completed in 2007, it will be one of the largest archives
of its kind with content dating back to 1799 and over 1.5 million articles of
scientific and scholarly research.
Authoritative, analytic reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical,
Physical, and Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Full-text access to all 11 journals of the American Society for Microbiology.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
Free access to over two million science research citations and over 140,000
electronic documents.
Coverage: citations from 1948 - current; documents, primarily from 1994 - current
The
ECD includes scientific and technical research results in
disciplines of interest to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) such as
chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering,
mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related
disciplines. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature,
conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Citations and abstracts covering the research, manufacturing practices,
properties and applications of of polymers, ceramics, and composites.
Coverage: Approximately 1986-current (the oldest record was
published in 1953; about 50% of the records have publication dates of 1993 or
later)
Engineered Materials Abstracts include the following
subfiles with combined coverage of over 3,000 periodicals, conference
proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books,
and press releases:
Advanced Polymers Abstracts-- captures technical
information about the uses, manufacturing, and properties of thermoset and
thermoplastic resins.
Composites Industry Abstracts -- focuses on polymers
and ceramics reinforced with fibers, honeycombs, whiskers and laminates.
Engineered Materials Abstracts, Ceramics -- captures
complete worldwide information about ceramics.
Polymer Library (formerly Rapra Abstracts) --
information on rubbers, plastics, adhesives and polymeric composites.
Contains over 9 million bibliographic records and abstracts plus references to
over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and
trade publications.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Engineering Village is a combination of several
extensive databases:
Compendex contains bibliographic information and abstracts for
over 175 disciplines and major specialties within engineering and applied
science.
GEOBASE is multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic
information and abstracts for the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human
geography, and oceanography. The database covers approximately 2,000
international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade
publications;
Inspec, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers,
contains over eight million bibliographic records taken from 3,500 scientific
and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings;
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) database from
the U.S. Department of Commerce;
Referex Engineering contains engineering reference titles in
eBook format.
One-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Coverage: 2006, 14th ed.
The
Merck Index Online is the internationally recognized encyclopedia of
chemical substances, including human and veterinary drugs, biologicals and
natural products. It contains more than 10,000 monographs, 32 supplemental
tables and 450 Organic Name Reactions. The information provided includes
chemical, common and generic names, trademarks and their associated companies,
CAS Registry Numbers, molecular formulas and weights, physical and toxicity
data, therapeutic and commercial uses, chemical structures and selected
literature references for each substance. Compounds are indexed by Name,
Formulae, CAS Registry Number and Therapeutic Category/Biological Activity.
Full-text archive of publications of the American Physical Society, including
Physical Review,
Physical Review Letters, and
Reviews of Modern Physics.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
The complete archive consists of all of
Physical Review back to
1893, all of
Physical Review Letters back to 1958, and all of
Reviews of Modern Physics back to 1929. The majority of the collection
consists of scanned images of the printed journals available as either GIF
images or as PDF files. Portions of the 1995 and 1996 content and all content
thereafter, however, consist of PDF files that are produced directly as part of
our paper printing process.
Source material for
Polymer Library is selected from more than
500 journals in a wide range of languages from 30 different countries including
North America, Australia, Europe, Japan, and China. Source material is also
collected from books, technical reports and trade literature. In 1994, patent
information relating to rubber and plastics industries was added to the
database.
Combines over 1,100 essential reference books and databases in the areas of
Chemistry and the Life Sciences; Materials; and Engineering.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Complete, full-text access to more than 4,100 ebooks covering all major subject
areas, including over 280 titles related to Psychology.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - 2006