Recommended Databases
Search all three mostly full-text
ABI/INFORM business, finance,
and management databases.
Coverage: 1971 - current
ABI/INFORM Dateline delivers over 175 journals, with more than
165 available in full text. Research employment opportunities, compile data on
benefits and compensation, learn about corporate strategies, and other topics
from a local and regional perspective.
Dateline includes major business
tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, and wire services along with hard-to-find
local and regional business publications.
Coverage: 1985 - current
ABI/INFORM Global includes over 2,830 publications, with
more than 1,850 available in full text, covering business conditions and trends;
management techniques, practice and theory; and corporate strategy and tactics.
Included is the
Archive that contains complete runs of key business and management
journals, providing a unique historical perspective on hundreds of topics,
including corporate strategies, management techniques, marketing, product
development, and industry conditions worldwide.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry includes in-depth more than 1,240
publications, with over 1,150 in full-text, covering companies, products,
executives, trends, and other topics.
Full text for more than 2,300 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed
titles, covering all aspects of business, including marketing, management,
accounting, finance and economics.
Coverage: 1922 - current
Databases
Comprehensive coverage of accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry
publications and newspapers.
Coverage: 1971-current
ProQuest
Accounting & Tax includes nearly 2,200 titles, as well as IASB,
AICPA, and FASB accounting standards. It’s national and international in scope,
providing information on accounting policies and standards, state and national
legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans,
and corporate financial management. This database is the exclusive source for
the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB). IASB consists of 31 active
standards ranging from accounting policies, revenue, assets, financial
statements, joint ventures, cash flow, and more.
Business & Company Resource Center provides business, company, and industry
content in the following areas:
* Periodical articles, news articles, and press releases
* Detailed information for domestic and international companies and
associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures
* Company financials and earning estimates
* Investment reports
* Corporate chronologies and company histories
* Brands and product information
* Industry and company rankings
* Market Share data
* Industry Overviews
* HR Law Case Digests
Provides enhanced searching and browsing capabilities for Companies Profiles, Country Reports, Industry Profiles, and Market Research.
Coverage: 1922 - current
Full text for more than 2,300 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed
titles, covering all aspects of business, including marketing, management,
accounting, finance and economics.
Coverage: 1969 - current
the American Economic Association’s electronic database,
EconLit,
provides links to full text articles in all fields of economics, including
capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting,
environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary
theory, urban economics and much more. It also includes abstracts of books,
journal articles, and working papers published by the
Cambridge University
Press. These sources bring the total records available in the database to
more than 785,000.
Full-text access to over 100 journals covering a variety of disciplines, mostly in the areas of Management and Marketing.
Coverage: varies.
Some full text that covers the latest in management, economics and politics from
newspapers, journals, brokerage reports and company directory listings.
Coverage: 1980 - current
General Business File ASAP is a subset of the Gale OneFile
database. It contains abstracts and some full text from business newspapers,
magazines, and journals covering topics such as finance, acquisitions & mergers,
trade, money management, and investments & banking. Use it to analyze company
performance and activity, research industry events and trends, broker research
reports, and over 150,000 company directory listings.
LexisNexis Academic offers full-text access to hundreds of
major business and legal journals, magazines, and major U.S. and international
newspapers such as the New York Times. Country, tax, medical, federal and state
legal information can also be accessed. Besides Business, the database also
contains three other categories that can be searched separately or in
combination:
"News"
provides full-text access to more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around
the world, including the
Financial Times
(dating back to 1982),
The New York Times (dating back to 1980) and
The Washington Post (dating back to 1977); over 300 major magazines and
journals; and broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio
networks.
"Legal" includes primary source material such as case law,
statutes and regulations along with legal news and law reviews for background or
analysis of a legal topic.
"People" offers biographies and obituaries of people in the
news, government, and industry.
Marketsight includes fundamental data on approximately 10,000
active U.S. companies and 14,000 inactive companies plus over 14,000 global
companies from 80 countries that can all be accessed directly within Excel
spreadsheets using
Excel Analytics. Also included are company
business descriptions, financial snapshots and historical corporate actions
covering items such as mergers and acquisitions, spinoffs, and name and ticker
changes.
S&P's Industry Surveys, written by S&P's equity
analysts, reveal industry trends, key ratios, statistics and more on over 90
industry segments.
COMPUSTAT Peer Group reports identifies a company's 10 closest
peers, based on sales, within the S&P industry group. And
EDGAR
offers a comprehensive collection of filings that companies file with the SEC.
STAT-USA/Internet consists of two main databases:
State of the Nation (SOTN) is a repository of economic
indicators on topics such as employment, wholesale and retail prices, monetary
and housing trends, gross domestic product, etc.
Global Business Opportunities (GLOBUS) & the
National Trade Data Bank (NTDB)
offer access to over 200,000 current and historical documents on export
opportunities by industry, country, and product; political and socio-economic
conditions in hundreds of countries; and much more!
STAT-USA/Internet also includes information from non-federal sources such
as the Institute for Supply Management and Cantor/Fitzgerald, among others.
Offers full-text coverage of national and international finance as well as first
rate coverage of hard news.
Coverage: 1984 - current
Comprehensive, high-quality indexing covers not only complete bibliographic
information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic
areas, so researchers can easily access not only top news stories but also
detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even
such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, and letters to the editor from
well-known people are indexed. For each article cited in the database, an
abstract of up to 75 words helps the researcher know if the complete text will
meet his or her needs.
Offers every issue in complete paper–cover-to-cover with full-page and article
images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: July 8, 1889 - Dec 31, 1989
The database covers
The Wall Street Journal from its first issue in
1889 through 2003. Coverage includes not only news, editorials, letters to the
editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical
photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
A searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image. Users can search
by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching
techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed
bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title,
publication, issue date, author, page, etc.
Contains 600 detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners, including financing,
financial planning, business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning, and human resource issues.
Coverage: 2nd edition 2002
Complete, full-text access to more than 4,100 ebooks covering all major subject
areas, including over 280 titles related to Psychology.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - 2006
Full-text complete access 5 dictionaries covering accounting, economics, finance, and management plus a handbook on international
financial terms.
Coverage: Publication dates 1997 - 2006
Complete full-text access to over 1,600 fully searchable books, articles, and
videos from premier industry publishers.
Coverage: 2005 - current
Safari Tech Books Online publishers include O'Reilly Media, Addison-Wesley,
Adobe Press, Macromedia Press, Cisco Press, Que, Sams, Sun Microsystems Press,
Microsoft Press, IBM Press, MySQL Press, and more.
Stay informed of the latest Safari additions through RSS feeds. Click on the RSS
icon displayed on the home page to find out when new titles are added. Or click
on the RSS feed icon in any specific category to limit new title alerts. Or you
can also create your own customized RSS feed to let you know when specific books
are added to the service.