Recommended Databases
Analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and
identifying the principal contributions in 32 focused disciplines within the
Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Editorial committees comprised of
distinguished scholars in the discipline critically review, synthesize, and
filter the vast amount of primary research in specific disciplines. Each AR
article is written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Each
article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary
research literature referenced within each topic. These AR publications are
among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute
for Scientific Information® (ISI).
Access to all 11 journals of the American Society for Microbiology.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
ASM Journals Online is the browsable and searchable online collection of all
journals published by the American Society for Microbiology. The Society's
journals "cover the spectrum of microbiology, from molecular and cellular
biology to biomedical research and technology." ASM Journals Online site also
includes the Minireview Collection, a collection of ASM minireviews published in
the last 12 months.
Citations and abstracts of articles from about 6,000 journals,
patents, conference proceedings, books, and reports.
Coverage: 1982 - current
The
Biological Sciences Collection combines abstracts and citations from
25 individual databases covering research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology
and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting
over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides access to
literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical
reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Nearly 1,600 peer-reviewed journals covering many areas of science, medicine, computers, business and more.
Coverage: 1995 - current
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's
science, technology and medical published content. UML has full text access to 1,590 peer-reviewed journals
with citations and detailed abstracts available for over 1,000 other journals.
Apart from the sciences, computer science, mathematics, business and economics are also covered.
In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical
archive of over 6.75 million articles back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections
contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.
Databases
Access to 35 ACS journals plus its weekly news magazine.
Coverage: 1879 - current
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications provides searchable access to over
130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000
articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to
the introduction of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879.
Article indexes and abstracts mostly covering the life sciences.
Coverage: 1989 - current
Biology Digest is a compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area
of life sciences along with zoology, veterinary medecine, ecology, climatology, and more. It is primarily intended
for high school or undergraduate college students. Its purpose is to aid in keeping students and instructors
current on the latest developments in biological research. Each of over 20,000 records contains an original
abstract averaging about 325 words.
Bibliographic records and abstracts of scientic and engineering research.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Engineering Village includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts
from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. It's composed of a combination of several
extensive databases:
Compendex contains bibliographic information and abstracts for
over 175 disciplines and major specialties within engineering and applied
science.
GEOBASE is multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic
information and abstracts for the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human
geography, and oceanography. The database covers approximately 2,000
international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade
publications;
Inspec, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers,
contains over eight million bibliographic records taken from 3,500 scientific
and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings;
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) database from
the U.S. Department of Commerce;
Referex Engineering contains engineering reference titles in
eBook format.
Contains content from journals, pamphlets, reference books, and health and fitness magazines.
Coverage: 1980 - current
This database provides access to the full text and images of 40 full-text
nursing and allied health journals plus the wide variety of personal health
information from medical journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters,
pamphlets, newspaper articles, topical overviews, and reference books.
Extensive journal coverage of the health sciences.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Ovid searches can be limited to either the full Ovid collection
Access full-text articles from 65 journal covering nursing, medicine,
healthcare, psychology and the biological sciences
One-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Coverage: 2006, 14th ed.
The
Merck Index Online is the internationally recognized encyclopedia of
chemical substances, including human and veterinary drugs, biologicals and
natural products. It contains more than 10,000 monographs, 32 supplemental
tables and 450 Organic Name Reactions. The information provided includes
chemical, common and generic names, trademarks and their associated companies,
CAS Registry Numbers, molecular formulas and weights, physical and toxicity
data, therapeutic and commercial uses, chemical structures and selected
literature references for each substance. Compounds are indexed by Name,
Formulae, CAS Registry Number and Therapeutic Category/Biological Activity.
You must first register before using this database.
Access to the complete Chemical Abstracts Service and Medline databases.
Coverage: CAS 1907 - current, Medline 1950 - current
SciFinder Scholar is an electronic version of the complete Chemical Abstracts starting from 1907. It provides
access to more than 8000 journal and patent references (from over 32 patent-issuing organizations), and includes
more than 30 million substance records and CAS Registry Numbers. Users can search the chemical literature
(journals and patents) in a variety of ways: author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure
or chemical reaction. The CAS databases are a comprehensive collection of published chemical literature.
The complete Medline database from 1950 on is also searchable through SciFinder Scholar.
A collection of toxicology and environmental health databases.
TOXNET is a free U.S. government collection of databases that can be used to locate
toxicology data, literature references, and toxic release information on particular chemicals as well as to
search to identify chemicals that cause specific effects. TOXNET offers a
variety of ways to display and sort information. Its "Multi-Databases" feature
provides an integrated search of any or all of several databases (HSDB, IRIS,
CCRIS, GENE-TOX). Its "Search All Databases" feature provides a list of TOXNET
databases in which a search term is found, each paired with the retrieval record
count and with links to the Search Results page of those databases.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Scientific, technical, and medical content from journals, books, reference
works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library.
Coverage: 1997 - current
Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for
quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific,
technical, medical and professional endeavors with content from journals, books,
reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and
The Cochrane Library,
which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than
half of Wiley's journals on
Wiley InterScience are digitized back to
Volume 1, Issue 1 as part of the development of the journal backfile initiative.
When the initiative is completed in 2007, it will be one of the largest archives
of its kind with content dating back to 1799 and over 1.5 million articles of
scientific and scholarly research.
eBooks
Signup for your own personal account so that you can create a personal bookshelf in order to
create and save highlights, notes, and more. Download the ebrary Reader in order to take notes, highlight, and use
other advanced features. Click on the help icon above for information on how to take advantage of the
many special features in ebrary.
Explains concepts as well as the history of biological science.
Coverage: Publication 2002
Published by Macmillan Reference, the
Biology Encyclopedia is a 4 volume collection that
discusses critical issues such as embryogenesis and commercial applications of research in biology and
addresses ethical issues. It also provides information on careers in biology and contains color illustrations,
sidebars, bibliographies, timelines, charts, and a glossary.
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject
Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies
including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press,
American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical
Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help
analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from
existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.
Over 4,400 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - current
NetLibrary eBook titles are searchable by using up to four
criteria including title, author, keyword, ISBN, or publisher plus limiting by
publication year and language. Individual titles can then be read online in the
Online Reader, browsed by table or contents, or keyword searched. Up to four
books can be held in the Reader simultaneously. Books cannot be read offline,
downloaded, or "checked out." The Reader is cleared at the end of each session.
By creating a free account, access is available from anywhere using your
personal login and titles can then be saved to your Favorites list.