Recommended Databases
Full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected
publications.
Coverage:Indexing 1984+, Abstracting 1994+, “select” Full Text 1997+
Bibliographic citations covering books, exhibition catalogues, conference
proceedings and journal articles.
Coverage: 1973-current
Published by the Getty Research Institute, the BHA citations encompass the fine
arts — painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture — as well as
decorative and applied arts — crafts, graphic arts, folk and popular art. It
includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: Répertoire
d’Art et d’Archéologie (RAA) from 1973 to 1989 and International Repertory of
the Literature of Art (RILA) from 1975 to 1989. The database contains more than
700,000 records drawn from 1,400 journals, as well as books, conference
proceedings, essays, exhibition catalogues, selected art dealers’ catalogues,
doctoral dissertations and microform publications. Records feature detailed
abstracts in English or French.
The
Grove Dictionary of Art combines the entire full text of
The
Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) with
The
Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). It
contains over 45,000 articles searchable by keyword; over 3,000 thumbnail images
included in the most frequently consulted and important articles; and over
40,000 links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world.
Databases
Full-text articles from the world's leading journals, newspapers and reference
sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine,
social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the
following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed
academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty
titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of
The
New York Times from 1990,
The Wall Street Journal,
The Washington Post,
Los Angeles Times and
Christian
Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture,
general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry
topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any
National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced
by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the
Census and the State Department are also available.
Full text for nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals, including more than
3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
In addition to full text,
Academic Search Premier offers
indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly
collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including:
computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics,
arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Full-text access to more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world,
including the
Financial Times
(dating back to 1982),
The New York Times (dating back to 1980) and
The Washington Post (dating back to 1977);
LexisNexis Academic is divided into four catagories that can
searched individually or in combination:
"News"
provides full-text access to more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around
the world, including the
Financial Times
(dating back to 1982),
The New York Times (dating back to 1980) and
The Washington Post (dating back to 1977); over 300 major magazines and
journals; and broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio
networks.
"Legal" includes primary source material such as case law,
statutes and regulations along with legal news and law reviews for background or
analysis of a legal topic.
"Business" provides U.S. and international company financial
information, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search
features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income
and number of employees.
"People" offers biographies and obituaries of people in the
news, government, and industry.
Complete, full-text access to more than 4,100 ebooks covering all major subject areas, including over 280 titles related to
Psychology.
Coverage: Publication dates 1963 - 2006
Full-text access to 9 reference books and dictionaries covering art and architecture, artists, photography, landscaping, and
design.
Coverage: Publication dates 1993 - current
Complete full-text access to over 1,600 fully searchable books, articles, and videos from premier industry publishers.
Coverage: 2005 - current
Safari Tech Books Online publishers include O'Reilly Media, Addison-Wesley, Adobe Press, Macromedia Press, Cisco Press,
Que, Sams, Sun Microsystems Press, Microsoft Press, IBM Press, MySQL Press, and more.
Stay informed of the latest Safari additions through RSS feeds. Click on the RSS icon displayed on the home page to find out when
new titles are added. Or click on the RSS feed icon in any specific category to limit new title alerts. Or you can also create
your own customized RSS feed to let you know when specific books are added to the service.