University of Massachusetts Lowell
UML Home News Calendar Directory Maps & Directions Libraries Questions
UML Search:

Databases A - Z

UML Home  > Libraries Home  > Databases Home  > A - Z List
Enter search term(s): Search by:
Use quotation marks "around phrases" for better results!
Choose all (databases with checkboxes can be searched simultaneously)
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-V-Z
ABI/Inform combined search (ProQuest)    full text   search help
Search all three ABI/INFORM business, finance, and management databases.
Coverage: 1971 - current
Academic OneFile (Gale)    full text   help   title list
Broad collection from leading journals, newspapers and reference sources.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)    full text   help
Nearly 4,500 multi-disciplinary journals cover most subjects.
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
Accounting & Tax Database (ProQuest)    full text   search help   title list
Accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry publications and newspapers.
Coverage: 1971-current
Over 1,500 books of major importance, recommended and reviewed by scholars. Coverage: 1956 - 2003
Full text and citations from journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings.
Coverage: 1985 - current
Ageline (Ebsco)   search help
Citations and abstracts addressing aging issues from the individual to the global.
Subject index to international alternative periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Coverage: 1991 - current
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)    full text   search help   title list
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Coverage: 1970 - current
America: History & Life (Ebsco)    full text   search help  
Bibliographic entries covering all eras of U.S. and Canada history.
Coverage: 1964 - current
Features free access to CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians.
35 prestigious journals published by the American Chemical Society in addition to its weekly newsmagazine. Coverage: 1879 - current
Access five AIP journals covering physics and chemistry research.
Coverage: varies, 1931 to present.
Original papers in applied mathematics, published quarterly by Brown University.
Coverage: 2005 - current
Biographies of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives shaped America.
American Periodicals Series (ProQuest)    full text   search help   title list
Contains over 1,100 digitized page images of early-American periodicals.
Coverage: 1740 - 1900
APS news, meeting reports, resources for educators and students and much more.
Covers subjects such as aggression, learning, foraging and ingestion.
Coverage: 1982 - current
spacer Annual Reviews    full text   search help   title list
Analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Art & Architecture Complete (Ebsco)    full text   search help   New Resource
Full text articles and books covering antiques, art and art history, film, interior and landscape design, and much more.
ARTFL Project    full text  
Nearly 2,000 classic works of French literature and non-fiction.
Coverage: Medieval - 20th century
ARTstor    search help  
Nearly 1 million images supporting the humanities and social sciences.
Access 30 journals plus an online journal archive.
Coverage: 1990 - currrent
Access to all 11 journals of the American Society for Microbiology.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
Access all 21 of ASME's Transactions Journals.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
A multi-disciplinary forum for the applied sciences and engineering.
Coverage:1973 - current
ASTM Standards    full text  
View, download, and print any of 12,000+ ASTM standards.
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
Bartleby.com    full text  
Free access to reference books, fiction, nonfiction, and verse, featuring the Columbia Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary.
Access to the The Economists' Voice and Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management.
Coverage: 2004 - current.
Citations covering books, exhibition catalogues, conference proceedings and journal articles. Coverage: 1973-current
Biographical information about current and historical people.
Citations and abstracts of articles from about 6,000 journals, patents, conference proceedings, books, and reports. Coverage: 1982 - current
Biology Digest (CSA)    search help  
Article indexes and abstracts mostly covering the life sciences.
Coverage: 1989 - current
Information on in-print, out-of-print book, audio, and video titles.
Boston Globe (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Authoritative coverage of local, national and international news.
Coverage: September 1980 - current
Boston Globe, Historical (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Cover-to-cover full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: March 4, 1872 - Dec. 31, 1925
Boston Herald (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Full text of the Boston Herald newspaper.
Coverage: 1991 - current
Business, company, and industry information on thousands of global companies.
Business Source Premier (Ebsco)    full text   search help   title list
Covers business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Coverage: 1922 - current
Business Source Premier Enhanced (Ebsco)    full text   search help   title list
Enhanced searching and browsing for data within Business Source Premier.
Coverage: 1922 - current
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
Partial full-text covering diverse disciplines.
Coverage: varies, most from 1997.
spacer CHEMnetBASE    full text   search help
Premier chemistry references, presenting facts, formulas, tables, and illustrations.
Collected information related to child welfare, abuse, neglect, and adoption.
Coverage: 1965 - current
The top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
Coverage: September 1989 - current
CINAHL (Ebsco)    search help  
Indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Coverage: 1982 - current
Ebooks covering topics in Psychology, Neuroscience, Linguistics, and much more.
Coverage: Publication dates 1992 - current
Bibliographic records and abstracts of scientific and engineering research.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Citations to presentations from scientific conferences around the world.
Coverage: 1982 - current
Contemporary Authors (Gale)    full text  
Biographical and bibliographical information on U.S. and international authors.
Critical essays on contemporary authors now living or who died after 1959.
CQ Researcher    full text   title list
In-depth, original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Coverage: 1991 - current
Abstracts from journals, books, reports, and dissertations related to criminology.
Coverage: 1968 - current
These 23 journals are now accessible through the Sage Premier Collection.
Coverage: 1999 - current
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
Access to nearly 4,000 scientific and scholarly journals.
Coverage: varies.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Over 750,000 full text dissertations with abstracts for over two million.
Coverage: 1861 - current
Dissertations & Theses @ UMass Lowell (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Citations for UML dissertations and theses with some full text.
Coverage: 1986 - current
UML library locations for UML Doctoral Dissertations and Master's Theses.
Coverage: 1949 - 1985
The Academic Complete Collection contains nearly 43,000 titles, many published by leading academic presses, covering 16 key subject areas.
EconLit (Ebsco)    full text   search help
Covers all aspects of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Coverage: 1969 - current
Education Journals from ProQuest (ProQuest)    full text   search help   title list
Over 760 leading journals in education and related fields.
Coverage: 1991 - current
Education Research Complete (Ebsco)    full text   search help   title list   New Resource
Full text journal articles, books, and conference papers.
Coverage: Full-Text: 1972-Current, Indexing: 1914-Current
Offers premier reference sources with hundreds of journals related to education.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Magazines, newspapers, books, and thousands of images, and audio/video files.
Coverage: most material 1994 - current
Access over 100 journals mostly covering areas of Management and Marketing.
Over 2.3 million science research citations and documents from Dept. of Energy.
Coverage: 1943 - current
Research, properties, and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composites.
Coverage: Mostly 1986-current
Bibliographic records and abstracts of scientic and engineering research.
Coverage: 1996 - current
spacer EngNetBase    full text   help   title list
Over 1,000 handbooks and references from CRC press.
Environment Index (Ebsco)    search help
Citations and abstracts from domestic and international journals as well as books.
Coverage: 1940s - current
ERIC (Ebsco)   search help
Citations and abstracts with some full text covering education-related topics.
Coverage: 1966 - current
Research and scholarly output from the Universities of California.
Coverage: 2002 - current
Ethnic NewsWatch with History Backfile (ProQuest)    full text   search help   title list 1   title list 2
Publications from ethnic, minority and native presses from throughout the U.S.
Coverage: 1960 - current
Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)    full text   title list
Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers, many in full text with images. Coverage: 1980 - current
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
24 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources.
Coverage:
Publication dates 1999 - 2006
GenderWatch (ProQuest)    full text   search help   title list
Focus on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women.
Coverage: 1970 - current
spacer General Business File ASAP (Gale)    full text   search help   title list
Information on management, economics and politics from newspapers, journals, brokerage reports and company directory listings.
Coverage: 1980 - current
General OneFile (Gale)    full text   title list
Periodicals, magazines, and newspaper services covering current events worldwide.
Coverage: 1980 - current
General interest database integrating newspapers, books, magazines, and more.
Coverage: 1980 - current
spacer Google Books    full text   search help
View and preview over 7 million digitized books and download over one million.
Business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal Government.
Offers a broad search for scholarly literature.
GreenFILE (Ebsco)    full text   search help
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment
Coverage: 1975 - current (earlier for some titles)
Grove Art Online (now Oxford Art Online)    full text   help  
Combines Grove Art with Oxford art reference content that includes over 5,400 images.
spacer Grove Music Online (now Oxford Music Online)    full text   search help  
Cross-search multiple Oxford and Grove Music reference titles in one location.
Coverage: Publication dates 1993 - current
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Coverage: 90TH Edition, 2009-2010
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America.
Coverage: 1936 - current
Citations for documents and journals relating to test instruments.
Coverage: 1985 - current
The most important new developments in safety science and human factors research.
Coverage: 1981 - current
Contains content from journals, pamphlets, reference books, and health and fitness magazines. Coverage: 1980 - current
HighWire Press    full text   search help  
Articles on health, medicine and the biological sciences from 46 journals.
Coverage: varies (as early as 1905) - current
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)    full text   search help  
Citations and abstracts concerning world history from 1450 to the present.
Coverage: 1954 - current
Historical Boston Globe (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Cover-to-cover full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: March 4, 1872 - Dec. 31, 1925
spacer Historical Chicago Defender (ProQuest)    full text   search help   title list
Full issue coverage of this influential black weekly newspaper.
Coverage: 1910 - 1975
Historical New York Times (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Cover-to-cover full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: Sept 18,1851 - Dec 31, 2005
Historical Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Complete cover-to-cover with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: July 8, 1889 - Dec 31, 1991
Hoover's Company Records (ProQuest)    full text   search help
Editorial content and analysis for public and non-public companies and executives.
Covers health and medicine in journals, pamphlets, reference books, and magazines.
Coverage: 1982-1995
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
spacer IbisWorld    full text  
U.S. and global industry market research, economic reports, and profiles.
IEEE Xplore    full text   search help  
Technical literature in computer science, electrical engineering, and electronics.
Coverage: 1864 - current
Multi-volume reference works covering education, literacy, and technology.
Coverage: Publication dates 2005 - 2006
Partial full-text to journals covering the multiple disciplines.
Coverage: varies (as early as 1961) - current.
Informe (Gale)    full text  
Proporciona imágenes y el texto completo de compartimientos hispánicos populares.
Provides images and full text from popular Hispanic magazines.
Coverage: 1987 - current
Partial full text to journals covering multiple disciplines.
Coverage: varies (mostly from 2001) - current.
Covers music from the scholarly to the popular.
Coverage: 1874 - current
Free full-text access to nearly 1,500,000 digital books available to download.
Access all IOP published journals covering physics, mathematics, and engineering.
Coverage: 1874 - current
Complete archives of 18 leading Irish newspapers searchable by full text.
Coverage: (varies)1763 - current
Bibliographic citations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance periods.
Coverage: 400-1700
Journals@Ovid (UML Subscribed content)
Access 50 full-text journals in nursing, medicine, and healthcare.
Coverage: varies, most from 1993 to the present
Journals@Ovid (full Ovid collection)    full text   search help  
Search all of Ovid health sciences content with most journals not in full text.
Coverage: 1996 - current
JSTOR    full text   search help   title list  
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
Articles on chemical substances— their properties, manufacturing, and uses.
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well. Coverage: 1996 - current
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
Access news, business, and legal sources from the U.S. and around the world.
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
Coverage: mid-1960s - current
Literary Reference Center (Ebsco)    full text   search help
Over 1,000 books, literary encyclopedias, and hundreds of literary journals.
Articles, criticism, reviews, and biographies covering over 130,000 writers.
Lowell Sun (ProQuest)    full text   search help
Full-text coverage of the Lowell Sun newspaper.
Coverage: November 2004 - current
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
spacer Market Insight (S&P)    full text   search help
Research from Standard & Poor's about companies, industries and countries.
General coverage of regional history, law, government and current events.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Massachusetts Newsstand (ProQuest)    full text   search help    title list
Combined coverage of 14 Massachusetts newspapers such as the Globe and Lowell Sun.
Coverage: varies by title, oldest is 1980 - current
Bibliographic citations for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Coverage: 1864 - current
MEDLINE / PubMed (Ebsco)    search help  
Citations and abstracts covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, and much more.
Coverage: 1860 - present
Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
Coverage: 1916 - 2006 (Yearbook 9 - current)
spacer Merck Index    full text   help
One-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Coverage:
2006, 14th ed.
spacer Merck Manuals    full text  
A free online series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers.
Nearly 500 titles from MIT Press on the topics of Psychology, Cognitive Science, Neuroscience, Linguistics, and much more.
Coverage:
Publication dates 1992 - current
Detailed publication information on over 5,500 journals.
Citations covering research in literature, linguistics, literature, and folklore.
Coverage: 1980 - current
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
Complete Working Papers collection that cover all aspects of economic analysis.
Coverage: 1998 - current
Complete digitized content of over 70 biomedical books.
Coverage: most published from 1999 - current
Access all issues of the journal Nature along with other content.
Coverage: 1869 - current
spacer NetLibrary eBooks    full text   help   title list
Over 4,400 ebooks covering all major subject areas.
Coverage: 1963 - current
Access to all issues including complete archive.
Coverage: 1963 - Current
New York Times    full text   search help  
Recent news from nytimes.com plus full text from the archive 1851 - 1980.
Coverage: 1851 - Current
New York Times, Historical (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Cover-to-cover full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: Sept 18,1851 - Dec 31, 2005
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
This Magna newsletter covers developments in online education.
Coverage: 2003 - current
spacer Optics InfoBase (Optical Society of America)    full text   search help
Access complete runs of all journals and conference papers published by OSA.
Coverage: varies, 1917 - current
Ovid Journals (full Ovid collection)    full text   search help  
Extensive journal coverage of the health sciences.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art Online)    full text   help  
Combines Grove Art with Oxford art reference content that includes over 5,400 images.
Depicts the etymology of words in the English language.
Cross-search multiple Oxford and Grove Music reference titles in one location.
Coverage: Publication dates 1993 - current
Contains hundreds of Oxford Companion reference books and dictionaries covering all subjects world wide.
Directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers.
Philosopher's Index (Ebsco)    search help  
Citations and abstracts covering research in all areas of philosophy.
Coverage: 1940 - current
Complete archive of physics journals from the American Physical Society.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
Citations covering the published international literature on traumatic stress.
Coverage: 1871 - current
Plant Science (CSA)   search help
Contains citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science.
Coverage: 1994 - current
Information about politics and governments throughout the Americas.
Full text articles, reference books, and conference papers.
Coverage: Full-Text: 1937-Current, Indexing: 1911-Current
Citations and abstracts covering rubbers, plastics, adhesives and composites.
Coverage: 1972 - current
Pre-CINAHL (Ebsco)   search help
Provides current awareness of new journal articles that appear in CINAHL.
Access over 300 journal titles covering the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Coverage: varies (earliest date 1995) - current
Content from over 600 top educational publications.
Coverage: 1991 - current
spacer ProQuest Newspapers (ProQuest)    full text   search help   
Combined search of local newspapers with the Wall St. Journal and alternative presses.
PsycArticles (Ebsco)    full text   search help
Access to journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Coverage: 1894 - current
PsycBooks (Ebsco)    full text   help
Includes most scholarly titles published by American Psychological Association. Coverage: 1953 to 2006
PsycInfo (Ebsco)    full text   search help
Content from journals, books, dissertations, and reports related to psychology.
Coverage: 1887 to present
spacer PubMed Central (PMC)    full text   title list  
The NIH free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Coverage: (varies) mid-1800s to present
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
Citations about manufacturing and related areas from journals and other media.
Coverage: 1990 - current
Regional Business News (Ebsco)    full text   search help  
Business journals and news covering metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.
Coverage: varies, 1993 - current
Citations and abstracts from worldwide publications on music.
Coverage: 1967 - current
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
Nearly 2,000 books, articles, and videos from premier industry publishers. Coverage: 2005 - current
48 encyclopedias and handbooks covering Social Sciences and Humanities.
Coverage: Publication dates 2002 - 2008
Over 500 journals covering health, social sciences, education, business and more.
Coverage: 1999 - current
Nearly 1,600 peer-reviewed journals covering many areas of science, medicine, computers, business and more. Coverage: 1995 - current
You must first register before using this database.
Access to the complete Chemical Abstracts Service and Medline databases.
Coverage: CAS 1907 - current, Medline 1950 - current
6 journals covering physics, engineering, vacuum science and medical devices.
Coverage: varies (earliest date 1933) - current
SIAM Journals Online    full text   search help  
Access all of SIAM's Mathematics journals plus the Locus Archive.
Coverage: 1952 - current
Abstracts from journals and dissertations with full text from 140 journals.
Coverage: 1979-Current
SocINDEX with Full Text (Ebsco)    full text   search help   title list
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines.
Coverage: 1895 to present
Content from journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers.
Coverage: 1952-Current
Access hundreds of journals mostly covering areas of the sciences and health.
Coverage: mostly 1997 - current
Extended articles related to philosophy from classical times to the modern.
spacer Stat-USA    full text   search help  
Business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal Government.
Detailed company product or service information, catalogs, CAD drawings, and more. Coverage: 1995 - current
Toxline (CSA)   search help  
Citations and abstracts from multiple types of sources concerning toxicology. Coverage: 1997 - current
A collection of toxicology and environmental health databases.
spacer Twayne Authors Series (Gale)    full text   search help    New Resource
Literary reference combining Twayne's U.S., English, and World Authors.
A | B | C | D-E | F-G | H | I-J-K | L | M | N | O-P | Q-R | S-T | U-Z
Publication information on periodicals of all types.
Search for books, journals and non-print materials.
Commercial tests and measures from journals and books available in UML Libraries.
Coverage: 1885 to 1999
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Coverage of national and international finance as well as hard news.
Coverage: 1984 - current
Wall Street Journal, Historical (ProQuest)    full text   search help  
Complete cover-to-cover with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Coverage: July 8, 1889 - Dec 31, 1991
Scientific, technical, and medical content from journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library.
Coverage: 1997 - current
Search millions of bibliographic records from libraries around the world.
Coverage: Before 1000 BC - current
Abstracts covering politics, international relations, government, public policy.
Coverage: 1975 - current