CENTER FOR LOWELL HISTORY UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS LOWELL LIBRARIES

Home     Digital Photographs     Genealogy Resources     Special Collections     Search
 
ONE MAN'S LEGACY
 
shared a front veranda, inner garden, and summer house, all bearing testimony to a close and enduring friendship.  Eli Hoyt occupied the home on the left and Freeman Shedd the other.  Located on Andover Street, a gracious tree-lined street in the Belvidere section of Lowell, the design placed both houses on either side of a driveway which sloped down to a barn on East Merrimack Street.

     Both residences were originally of a wood finish, but around the turn of the century, the outer finish of the Shedd house was stuccoed over.  The houses had slate roofs, red sandstone foundations, black walnut woodwork throughout, hand-decorated walls and ceilings, parquetry floors and six open fireplaces. A broad piazza ran along the front of the houses with a red tile floor and vine-covered railings.  The high point of the third floor was a large billiard room with a view across the Merrimack River to the distant New Hampshire mountains.

     About 1884, two barns were built on East Merrimack Street, one for each home, with driveways bordering the outer sides of the residences.  These massive structures were built by James W. Bennett, and had minaret-like towers.  They were of solid brick and heavy timber construction, and living quarters were provided in each barn for a coachman and his family.

     On February 9, 1887, Eli Hoyt, ill for several years with tuberculosis, died at the age of forty-eight. It was his friend's death which years later was to 

Top Of Page    Previous Page or Next Page