Classical Scores Library purchased

No Comments »

UML Libraries has purchased the complete online Classical Scores Library from Alexander St. Press. When complete, this collection will contain over 15,000 scores amounting to over 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. Currently the library is over 75% complete.

The collection covers time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. The complete works of most major composers are represented along with more obscure composers and works. Coverage is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. Multiple editions of works are also made available for comparison and analysis.

Users can search the database by musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher.

Scores can be viewed and then printed by page range, movement, or in its entirety. Use of printed scores is limited to individual study or notation and the like. Users are not allowed to perform the printed versions of the PDF scores.

The complete or collected works for the following composers will be made available online once the entire Classical Scores Library has been digitized:

Bach Loewe
Beethoven Mendelssohn
Berlioz Mozart
Brahms Palestrina
Chopin Rameau
Cornelius Schein
Glinka Schubert
Gretry Schuetz
Handel Schumann
Lassus Sweelinck
Liszt Victoria

Leave a Reply